3 Mindanawons fellows to 53rd SU National Writers Workshop

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews/06 March) — Three Mindanawon writers are among the 12 fellows for this year’s Silliman University National Writers Workshop, the Edilberto and Edith Tiempo Creative Writing Center said in a statement Wednesday.

Prescilla Dorado of UP-Mindanao was chosen for the fiction category, Gracielle Deanne Tubera made it to the creative nonfiction category, and Roberto Klemente Timonera of Iligan City and a student at Silliman University qualified to the poetry category.

The other fellows are Jose Jason Chancoco (Ateneo de Naga), Daniel Hao Chua Olivan Jr. (Ateneo de Manila), and Maria Camille Rivera (UP Diliman), for poetry; Jovy Almero (UP Diliman), Jose Renato Evangelista (DLSU Manila), Rolly Jude Ortega (Silliman University), and Erlinda Mae Young (UP Diliman) for fiction; and Johanna Michelle Barot Lim (University of San Carlos), and Jan Kevin Rivera (UP Diliman), for creative nonfiction.

The 53rd edition of the annual workshop starts on May 5 at the Rose Lamb Sobrepeña Writers Village in Camp Look-out, Valencia, Negros Oriental.

The panel of writers/critics for this year includes Director-in-Residence Susan S. Lara; Dumaguete-based writer César Ruìz Aquino; and guest panelists Gémino H. Abad, Dean Francis Alfar, Merlie Alunan, Ricardo de Ungria, Marjorie Evasco, Grace Monte de Ramos, Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, DM Reyes, John Jack Wigley, Alfred Yuson. They will be joined by two foreign panelists whose names will be announced later.

The workshop traditionally lasts for three weeks and is the oldest creative writing workshop of its kind in Asia. It was founded in 1962 by S.E.A. Write Awardee Edilberto K. Tiempo and National Artist Edith L. Tiempo, and was recently given the Tanging Parangal in the Gawad CCP Para sa Sining by the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

This year, the workshop is co-sponsored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia. (MindaNews)