Sun.Star Davao wins 2 awards

PPI’s annual gathering honors community newspapers that have shown exemplary work in editing, science and environmental reporting, business and economic reporting, photojournalism and editorial.

The awards were announced evening of April 28 at the Diamond Hotel on the second night of the April 27-29 PPI meeting.

The Annual Community Press Awards, aimed at raising the standards of journalism in the countryside and to honor news organizations not only for editorial excellence but also for their role as catalysts for community development, was launched in 1996 and first given to regional newspapers in 1997.

The awards were supported by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation until 2005. The PPI continued the awards-giving since then and starting this year, is being assisted by The Coca-Cola Export Corporation with civic journalism as their framework.

The Philippine Association of Communication Educators (PACE) has been managing the Awards through the Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication (AIJC).

This year's board of judges was composed of the following: Red Batario of the Center for Community Journalism and Development, Yvonne Chua of the Department of Journalism of the University of the Philippines-Diliman, former Environment secretary Fulgencio Factoran Jr. of the Factoran and Associates Law Office, Pacita Juan of the Philippine Coffee Board Inc. and Vergel Santos, chair of the Editorial Board of BusinessWorld. (MindaNews)