Davao City council moves session for SONA

He said that aside from Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and himself, Congress has also invited councilors Nilo Abellera, Mabel Sunga Acosta, Victorio Advincula, Leonardo Avila, Pilar Braga, Diosdado Mahipus and Jesus Zozobrado to attend the SONA at the Batasang Pambansa in Quezon City.

It was not confirmed if Duterte will attend but Bonguyan, who said it will be his first time, confirmed his attendance. Avila and Braga told MindaNews they have not yet decided on going.

Braga told MindaNews Wednesday it was the House's majority floor leader, Rep. Prospero Nograles of Davao City, who signed the invitation.

Braga said no urgent matters will be delayed in the postponement because the council has already decided on them on July 18.

Those who will go will also attend to "other official business" in Manila, Bonguyan said.

He stressed that they will foot their own bills for the trip. (Walter I. Balane / MindaNews)