New deadline for UP admission exam: Aug. 4

The regional examiners for Davao City will process applications up to Friday, the UP Mindanao Information Office said in a statement. No reason was given for the extension.

Applicants have to go to the UP in Mindanao campus, Mintal, Davao City to submit the following:
– correctly and completely accomplished UPCAT Forms 1 and 2; _
– four 2" x 2" identical recent photographs taken within the last 6 months;
– non-refundable application fee of P450 and
– self-addressed stamped envelope

Exempted from paying the application fee are "UPCAT applicants whose parents have an annual gross income of Pl00,000 and/or are one of the top ten prospective graduates of public high schools as of the end of SY 2005-2006."

The press statement said applicants who have not received their testing permits by August 3 must secure it from the regional examiners on August 4 and must bring two pieces of identical photos, proof of payment or certification of prospective top 10 in the graduating class and/or proof of mailing.        

The first deadline was set on June 28 and was moved to July 15.

The UP College Admission Test will be conducted nationwide on August 5 to 6 in different testing centers throughout the country.

In Mindanao, there are 20 testing centers in six regions.

These are:
Agusan del Norte: Urios College, Butuan City
Agusan del Sur: Agusan del Sur School of Arts and Trades, Prosperidad
Bukidnon: Bukidnon State College in Malaybalay City
Cagayan de Oro City: Capitol University
Camiguin: Camiguin Polytechnic College in Mambajao
Cotabato City: Notre Dame University
Davao City: UP Mindanao in Mintal
Digos City: Davao del Sur National High School
Dipolog City: Zamboanga Del Norte National High School
General Santos City: MSU College of Education Training-HS Department
Iligan: Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology
Kabacan: University of Southern Mindanao
Koronadal City: Notre Dame of Marbel University
Oroquieta City: Misamis Occidental National High School
Pagadian City:Southern Mindanao Colleges
Surigao City: Surigao State College of Technology
Surigao del Sur: Jacinto P. Elpa National High School, Tandag
Tacurong City: Sultan Kudarat Polytechnic State College
Tagum: Tagum National High School
Zamboanga City: Western Mindanao State University (Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)