2 Mindanawon mayors reap awards

According to a press statement from Sen. Aquilino Pimentel Jr., who is behind the LGLA, Surigao City Mayor Alfonso Casurra was adjudged most outstanding city mayor for his efforts in making his city the most competitive city in the country under the Small Cities Category in terms of cost of doing business.


“The peaceful coexistence among the different peoples and the close collaboration with the police and community has catapulted Surigao City into the one of the Rotary International’s 50 Peace Cities in the world since 2003,” Pimentel said.


Pimentel and Senate President Manuel Villar Jr. conferred the awards during simple rites held at the Sen. Ambrosio Padilla Room.

Mayor Maximo Estela, of Sto. Tomas in Davao del Norte, was also among those named as outstanding municipal mayors.


Other principal winners are Negros Oriental Gov. George P. Arnaiz, most outstanding provincial governor; and Mayor Jupiter C. Dominguez of Sabangan, Mountain Province, most outstanding municipal mayor.


Arnaiz reaped honors for spearheading the Negros Island Sustainable Agriculture and Rural Development Program, a joint undertaking of the two Negros provinces. Under his leadership, the construction of facilities needed for the economic and social advancement of the province like the Drug Treatment and Rehabilitation Center, the three-storey provincial hospital administration building, the Perdices Memorial Coliseum Complex and the 1,000-seater provincial convention center were realized.

Dominguez, on the other hand, was cited for his “inspiring leadership by instilling the people of Sabangan town with the spirit of hard work, dedication and commitment to excel amidst trials while preserving the unique indigenous culture and practices.”


Also honored as “outstanding local chief executives” were Gov. Erico Aumentado of Bohol and Gov. Vicente Bermejo of Capiz; Mayor Santiago Barcelona of Escalante City and Mayor Florencio Bernabe of Parañaque City; Mayor Ronald Allan Cesante of Dalaguete, Cebu; Mayor Jeorge (E.R.) Ejercito Estregan of Pagsanjan, Laguna; Mayor Luis Ferrer of General Trias, Cavite; and Mayor Alfonso Gamboa of Enrique Magalona, Negros Occidental.