Police admits NPA presence in Kidapawan villages

Insp. Benjamin Mauricio, chief of the Kidapawan PNP Intelligence Division, disclosed this to members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod during the regular session on Monday.


Mauricio said six villages in the northwestern part of the city, particularly in the boundary of Kidapawan-Makilala-Mlang, have been infiltrated by the NPA. The six other villages are in the southeastern portion or along the boundary of Kidapawan-Magpet-President Roxas.


He identified these villages as Junction, Kalaisan, Fatima, Macebolig, Sumbac, Amacion, Balabag, Perez, Manongol, Linangkob, Sto. Niño and Gayola.


Mauricio said their personnel monitored the presence of the NPA in these areas in November last year.


Based on intelligence reports, the NPA allegedly convinced their former supporters now living peacefully in these areas to again support the revolutionary movement.


Mauricio said the top two NPA leaders in the area — Commander Tao-tao of front 74 and Commander Ibyong of front 71 — were also seen in these villages during the last quarter of 2006.


He said there are other armed groups present in other parts of the city, but Mauricio could not ascertain what groups exactly these people belong to.


“We are still in the process of identifying these groups. Our intelligence operatives are still doing indepth investigations,” Mauricio told SP members.


City Councilor Jonares John Amador, chair of the committee on peace and order, has ordered the local PNP to closely monitor the villages said to be infiltrated by the NPA.


“Let us not be complacent with regards to this matter. I hope that our police could do something to safeguard our constituents living in these places,” Amador appealed.


He also urged the head of the Barangay Chairmen Association to meet his members as soon as possible to discuss the NPA threat.


The local PNP has already tapped the Civilian Volunteers Organization (CVO) and the village police auxiliary to help in maintaining peace and order, particularly in the 12 barangays.