UP Mindanao’s next chancellor is a woman

The next chancellor will be the third since UP Mindanao’s birth in 1995. The first chancellor was Rogelio Cuyno, now head of the Asian Institute of Journalism and the second is incumbent Ricardo de Ungria. Cuyno served two terms while de Ungria is ending his second term by February 28.

The four nominees will be presenting their vision papers from 9 a.m. to 12 noon tomorrow (Wednesday, January 10) at the Atrium of UP Mindanao in Mintal. A consultation with students will follow. In the evening, the nominees will meet with UP alumni and other stakeholders at 6 p.m. at the UP campus along Anda St. in downtown Davao City.

Their vision papers and a list of their significant achievements can be accessed from the website of UP Mindanao, www.upmin.edu.ph.

Hernandez, who holds a doctorate in Educational Administration, is Associate Professor 6 at the Department of Speech Communication and Theater Arts in UP Diliman. She served as UP Mindanao’s Vice Chancellor for Administration from August 2005 to March 2006.

Dans-Lee, a writer and illustrator for children, is a pioneer at UP Mindanao. Of the four, Dans-Lee spent more time at UP Mindanao, having served for 13 years. She set up the UP Mindanao Cultural Center and describes herself as “one of the rare faculty members of UP Mindanao who has been able to teach in all three colleges.”

De las Llagas, Professor of Public Health at UP Manila, is a “holder of MSc, PhD and LlB degrees” and was UPMin’s Vice Chancellor for Administration and Assistant for Special Projects from May to December 2006.

Rivero is UP Mindanao’s Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. She started serving that post in July 2004. Prior to this, she was Assistant Vice President for Development of the UP System from 2001 to 2004; secretary-member of the University General Education Council from 1999 to 2002; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Science, UP Diliman from 1990 to 1992; Assistant Dean for Student and Public Affairs, College of Science, UP Diliman from 1989 to 1990; Director, Institute of Biology, College of Science, 1993 to 1999. (MindaNews)