Police in Davao del Norte, Davao and Pagadian cities bag national awards

The awards will be given during the 18th anniversary celebration of the PNP on Monday, January 26.

The President will deliver her message on Monday morning at the PNP multi-purpose center in Camp Crame, Quezon City.

Others who performed best in 2008 are the PNP Headquarters Support Unit as Best National Administrative Support Unit; Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) as Best National Operational Support Unit; Quezon City Police District as Best NCRPO District Police Office; Marikina City Police Station as Best NCRPO City Police Station of the Year; Ayungon Municipal Police Station in Negros Oriental as Best Municipal Police Station of the Year; Regional Mobile Group-Cordillera as Best Regional Mobile Group of the Year; 201st Provincial Mobile Group Cagayan as Best Provincial Mobile Group of the Year; Police Regional Office 3 as Best Police Regional Office Women and Children Protection Center of the Year; Legazpi City Police Station as Best Urban Women and Children Protection Center of the Year; and Cabiao Municipal Police Station in Nueva Ecija as Best Rural Women and Children Protection Center of the Year.

Leading the PNP awardees isrookie cop PO1 Carl Marc Jopillo who will receive the Medalya ng Katapangan award for his bravery and heroism in defending the Libertad, Negros Oriental municipal police station against heavily armed New People’s Army (NPA) rebels last Nov. 2.

The Medalya ng Katangi-tanging Asal will be awarded to Barangay Captain Anastacio delos Santos “for single-handedly defending his family and community against 10 NPAs who attacked his residence in Cagayan last Dec. 15,” the OPS report said.

The President will also present the Medalya ng Pambihirang Paglilingkod to P/Chief Supt. Luisito Palmera and PO2 Jay Macutay “for their commendable and invaluable service in the conduct of the search, rescue and retrieval operations in the sinking of the M/V Princess of the Stars and M/B Maejan last Dec. 14.”

The Medalya ng Katangi-tanging Gawa will be given to P/Chief Supt. Arturo Cacdac, P/Chief Supt. Constante Azares, and Sr. Supt. Cesar Hawthorne Binag.

The PNP was established on Dec. 13, 1990 through Republic Act No. 6975 and was activated on Jan. 29, 1991 under a reorganized Department of the Interior and Local Government. (MindaNews)