SPECIAL REPORT (3): It?s still all in the family: Not only in the countryside but in the cities, too


Mayor Rodrigo Duterte is running for a third term as mayor, his sixth actually since 1988, with a three-year term as Davao City representative of the first district between. His daughter Sara, 28, single, also a lawyer like him, makes a first bid at politics as his running mate.

Sara does not think they’re building a political dynasty. “The people have a choice whether they will vote for us. That is why we cannot impose ourselves upon them,” she earlier told MindaNews.

“We are in a democracy where the people are assured of choosing their candidates,” she said.

Sara’s grandfather, Vicente, the father of Rodrigo, was governor of the undivided Davao province.

In the first congressional district, Representative (1st district) and Deputy Majority Floorleader Prospero Nograles  is running for a third term while his son, Karlo, a laywer and his chief of staff, is running for Congress, too, via a party-list group believed to be backed by Malacanang, Kalahi.

In Bislig, Rep. Jed Falcon is running for mayor against Mayor Alberto Tan. Jed is the son of Jesnar who wants to return to Congress, having served there from 1995  to 2004.

In Butuan, it’s still Amante versus Plaza with Democrito Plaza II running against former Agusan del Norte and former Rep. Angel Amante. Plaza’s mother Valentina, and Angel’s father, Edelmiro are running for governor of Agusan del Norte.

In Cagayan de Oro City, three-term Mayor Vicente Emano is running for vice mayor. Former mayor Pablo  Magtajas (PDP-Laban/ UNO) is running against three-term Rep. Constantino Jaraula (Lakas CMD), former Misamis Oriental governor Antonio Calingin, and independent candidates Felix Borres and Rhona Canoy. Rhona is the daughter of former Cagayan de Oro mayor Reuben Canoy who is running as an independent candidate for the city’s 1st congressional district, against vice mayor Michelle Tagarda-Spiers, Antonio Soriano, Annie Daba, Camilo Miguel Montesa and Henry Bacal.

Emano’s son Yevgeny, Tagoloan mayor, is running for congressman in the 2nd district of Misamis Oriental against Calingin’s son, Paul Andy; Misamis Oriental Vice Gov. Julio Uy and Rex Baculio, son of Rep. Agusto Baculio, Jr.

Cotabato Mayor Muslimin Sema is running against Rep. Bai Sendig Dilangalen, wife of Didagen Dilangalen who wants to reclaim his former seat in Congress;  Estrellita Juliano, who filed a protest against Sema’s proclamation in 2004; former city fire marshal Samad Candao, Banginda Sapi and Habib Ibrahim.

In Dapitan, it’s a toss-up between James Adasa and Dominador Garcia Jalosjos, Jr. for mayor. Jalosjos is seeking reelection. His brother Cesar is running for 3rd district representative of Zamboanga del Norte while sister Cecilia Jalosjos-Carreon is running for 1st district reprersentative.

In Digos City, it’s Mayor Arsenio Latasa (NPC) versus Toto Ymalay.

Dipolog’s three-term Rep. Roseller Barinaga wants to return to the city as mayor against Evelyn Tang Uy, wife of three-term mayor Robert Uy.

In General Santos, Mayor Pedro Acharon is running against former mayor Rosalita Nunez and Shirlyn Banas.

In Gingoog, Mayor Ruthie de lara Guingona is facing former mayor Romulo Rodriguez and Ernesto Rodriguez, who is facing a petition for disqualification for allegedly being a  nuisance candidate.

Guingona is the wife of former Vice President Teofisto Guingona and mother to Bukidnon 2nd district Rep. Teofisto Guingona III. 

In Iligan, it’s a return bout between Mayor Lawrence Cruz (NPC) and former mayor Franklin Quijano (Lakas).

In Isabela City, Cherry Santos-Akbar, third wife of three-term governor Wahab Akbar, is running for mayor against Mayor Rodolfo Tan, who ran and won the vice mayoralty in 2004 but assumed the post of mayor of Isabela after Mayor Luis R. Biel II was killed in March last year.  Number one councilor Luis R. Biel VI, assumed the post of vice mayor.

In the Island Garden City of Samal, three-term mayor Rogelio Antalan is not running for any post but his brother, Aniano, a former mayor of Kaputian town, is running for mayor.

In Kidapawan, Mayor Rodolfo Gantuangco (Kampi) is facing four opponents: Rosalio Bombeo (Lakas), Marilou Mahinay (Ind), Efren Lapore (Ind), and Alfredo Purugganan (Ind).

Koronadal Mayor Fernando Miguel (Kampi) is running against Atty. Jose Ledda, Jr., last-termer vice mayor.

In Malaybalay, Mayor Florencio Flores, Jr., is running against a political unknown.

In Marawi, three-term mayor Omar Solitario Ali is running for governor of Lanao del Sur. Running for city mayor are his cousin,  Sultan Fahad “Pre” Salic (some identify him to be a brother of Omar);  Vice Mayor Yusoph Khosbari “YK” Salic, cousin of  the mayor; former mayor Abbas Basman, and Engr. Nata Pangarungan.

Oroquieta City mayor Jorge Almonte is seeking reelection against vice mayor Lemuel Acosta.

In Ozamiz City, Mayor Reynaldo Parojinog is running unopposed.

Pagadian mayor Samuel Co is seeking reelection against former Rep. Sandy Urro.

Panabo Mayor Rey Gavina is completing his third term. Running for city mayor are  vice mayor Ruperto Cagape and councilor Joe Silvosa.

Surigao mayor Alfonso Casurra is running against Ernesto Matugas, brother of former governor Francisco Matugas who is running against Governor Robert Lyndón Barbers.

In Tacurong, Mayor Lino Montilla of NPC is running against Jonald Lagon of Kampi and Ralen Bernardo of Lakas.  Mayor Montilla’s brother, Angelo, is running for 1st district congressman of Sultan Kudarat province, against outgoing governor Pax Mangudadatu. Mangudadatu’s son, Suharto is running for governor.

In Tagum, Mayor Rey Uy is running against Davao del Norte board member Meliton  Lemos.

Tangub Mayor Jennifer Wee-Tan is running against board member Morpheus Agot

In Valencia, Mayor Jose M. Galario, Jr. is running against former mayor and former representative Berthobal Anceta.and former vice mayor Leandro Jose Catarata, son of a former mayor while Valencia was still a municipality.

In Zamboanga City, Mayor Celso Lobregat is facing a priest in the elections: Msgr Crisanto dela Cruz. (Carolyn O. Arguillas with reports from Violeta M. Gloria, Samira A. Gutoc, Williamor A. Magbanua, Walter I. Balane and Allen V. Estabillo/MindaNews)