Oldies, newbies to lead Malaybalay politics

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews / 14 May) – Newbies will meet the veterans when Malaybalay politics resumes post-election.

Incumbent vice-mayor Ignacio “Iñaki” Zubiri of the Lakas-Kampi-CMD won the mayoralty bid against Glorio “Toto” Sajulga with 27,253 and 19,808 votes respectively.

Three-term city councilor Victor “Vic-vic” Aldeguer, also from Lakas, was proclaimed vice-mayor, winning against Nicolas “Nick” Jurolan.

Seven among the ten declared city councilors are first-timers in the position. Atty. Jay Warren Pabillaran, who gained the most number of votes, is a first-timer in politics. Roland Deticio, is also a first time councilor although he served as board member of the 2nd district for three terms. Mya Rosos, formerly barangy councilor in Casisang, won on her first try at being a councilor.

For George Damasco, who both lost in a vice-mayoralty bid in 2004 and a city council bid in 2007, this was also a first time. Lorenzo Dinlayan, Perla Rubio and Anthony Barroso were also first-time councilors.

The re-electionists in the city council are Bob Roberto Casanova, Mechor Maramara and Fernando Melendez.

They were proclaimed at the Sangguniang Panlungsod at the City Hall on May 12.

In an interview Zubiri said he was grateful for the “trust and confidence of the people”. “I promise I’ll work hard to a continued progress in the city,” he said.

Zubiri also said that he would take a week-long vacation with his family after the “tiresome” elections. (April Rose Torion / MindaNews)