Mindanao’s elected: same faces, same family names (1)

1st of three parts

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/01 June) — The “new” set of Mindanao’s top officials is not exactly new.

Of 25 Mindanao governors, 16 are reelected, two are brothers of the outgoing governors and the rest are “recycled” or those who ran for other posts after completing, usually, a nine-year, three-term service.

Of 33 city mayors, 19 are reelected, five are either sons or daughters of the outgoing and the rest are “recycled.”

Of 57 congressional seats, 18 will be occupied by the same representatives while the rest are relatives of the governor or mayor.

The winners in Dinagat Island are no longer included in the listing because the Supreme Court has ruled with finality the nullification of its creation. Another province that elected a set of officials in 2007 but whose creation has been declared unconstitutional is Shariff Kabuansuan whose 11 towns were returned to Maguindanao.

Mindanao is back to 25 provinces and 33 cities.

The governors

Two governors of adjoining provinces are cousins: Datu Suharto Mangudadatu, the reelected governor of Sultan Kudarat and Datu Esmael Mangudadatu, the newly-elected governor of Maguindanao. Suharto’s father is Datu Pax Mangudadatu, who served for three terms as governor and who withdrew from the congressional race this year, while Esmael’s father is Datu Pua. Esmaels’ father is the eldest brother of Datu Pax.

Two other governors ran unopposed: Arturo Uy of Compostela Valley and Rodolfo Del Rosario of Davao del Norte.

The 16 reelected governors are Erlpe John M. Amante of Agusan del Norte, Jum Akbar of Basilan, Jurdin Jesus Romualdo of Camiguin, Uy of Compostela Valley and Del Rosario of Davao del Norte, Douglas Cagas of Davao del Sur, Corazon Malanyaon of Davao Oriental, Mohammad Q. Dimaporo of Lanao del Norte, Mamintal Adiong of Lanao del Sur, Oscar Moreno of Misamis Oriental, Miguel Rene Dominguez of Sarangani, Suharto Mangudadatu of Sultan Kudarat, Abdusakur Tan of Sulu, Sadikul Sahali of Tawi-tawi, Rolando Yebes of Zambonanga del Norte and Antonio Cerilles of Zamboanga del Sur.

Agusan del Sur Governor Ma. Valentina Plaza is now second district representative while her brother Adolph Edward is governor. Their parents – Democrito Plaza and Valentina Plaza, served as governors under the Marcos era.

Surigao del Sur Administrator Johnny Ty Pimentel is the governor-elect. He will replace his brother, Vicente Ty Pimentel.

Seven governors were not replaced by relatives. They were replaced mostly by allies or traded posts with another third-termer.

In Bukidnon, three-term governor Jose Ma. Zubiri has down to vice governor vice Alex Calingasan, his vice governor who is now governor-elect. In Maguindanao, three-term governor Datu Andal Ampatuan Sr. was replaced by Datu Esmael Mangudadatu, vice mayor of Buluan town.

In Misamis Occidental, Governor Loreto Leo Ocampos and 2nd district Rep vice Herminia Ramiro have traded posts: Ocampos is now 2nd district representative while Ramiro is governor-elect.

In North Cotabato, Governor Jesus Sacdalan has traded places with 1ST district Rep. Emmylou Talino-Mendoza. Sacdalan is now 1st district representative while Mendoza is the new governor.

In South Cotabato, three-term governor Daisy Fuentes is back to her old post as 2nd district representative, a post she served from 1992 to 2001. Arthur Pingoy, Jr., who succeeded Fuentes as 2nd district representative from 2001 to 2010, is succeeding her as governor.

In Surigao del Norte, Governor Robert Ace Barbers lost to Sol Matugas, wife of former governor Francisco Matugas who was reelected 1st district Rep.

In Zamboanga Sibugay. Rommel Apolinario Jalosjos, son of the former Zamboanga del Norte Rep. Romeo Jalosjos is the new governor, replacing George Hofer. Another son of Romeo, Romeo Masupil Jalosjos, Jr., outgoing mayor of Tampilisan town in Zamboanga del Norte is now 2nd district representative of Zamboanga Sibugay. Among his opponents was George Kintanar Hofer II , son of the outgoing governor. [Tomorrow: The City Mayors] (MindaNews)