Mindanao’s elected: same faces, same family names (3): The Representatives

Last of three parts

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/03 June) — Only one of 56 congressional districts has no proclaimed winner: the second congressional district of Lanao del Sur where a failure of elections was declared in seven towns.

The rest of the representatives had been proclaimed, including those recently created: the second district of Agusan del Sur and the lone district of Iligan; and abolished (what would have been the 57th lone congressional district of Dinagat Islands).

Of 56 congressional seats, 25 will be occupied by the same persons; nine will be occupied by their sibling, daughter, son or spouse.

The 25 reelected representatives are Jose Aquino of Agusan del Sur’s 1st district,  Jose Ma. Zubiri III (3rd, Bukidnon),  Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro’s 2nd district, Pedro Romualdo of Camiguin’s lone, Rommel Amatong of Compostela Valley’s 2nd,  Isidro Ungab of Davao City’s 3rd district, Antonio Lagdameo of Davao del Norte’s 2nd, Marc Douglas Cagas IV of Davao del Sur’s 1st, Franklin Bautista of  Davao del Sur’s 2nd, Nelson Dayanghirang and Thelma Almario of the 1st and 2nd districts of Davao Oriental,  Vicente Belmonte Jr. now representing Iligan City, Simeon Ampatuan Datumanong of Maguindanao’s 2nd district, Yevgeny Vicente Emano of Misamis Oriental’s 2nd district, Arnulfo Go of the 2nd district of Sultan Kudarat, Francisco Matugas of Surigao del Norte’s 1st, Guillermo Romarate of Surigao del Norte’s 2nd, Philip Pichay and Florencio Garay of the 1st and 2nd district of Surigao del Sur, Nur Jaafar of Tawi-tawi, Maria Isabelle Climaco and Erico Basilio Fabian of the 1st and 2nd districts of Zamboanga City, Rosendo Labadlabad and Cesar Jalosjos of the 2nd and 3rd districts of Zamboanga del Norte; and Victor Yu of Zamboanga del Sur’s 1st .

Agusan del Norte 2nd district Rep. Edelmiro Amante is ending his term and will be replaced by daughter Angelica Amante who has previously served the district and the province as governor. The incumbent governor is her brother.

Agusan del Sur’s 1st district Rep. Rodolfo Plaza ran for senator. His sister Ma. Valentina, the outgoing governor, has taken over his seat. The incoming governor is another sibling, Adolph Edward.

Compostela Valley Rep. Manuel “Way Kurat” Zamboara fielded his daughter, Maria Carmen Z. Apsay, to take over his 1st district seat.

House Speaker Prospero Nograles, who is completing his third and last term as 1st district representative of Davao City by noon of June 30 fielded his son, Karlo, to run for  his post.  Karlo won. The elder Nograles ran for mayor but lost to Vice Mayor Sara Duterte, daughter of Nograles’ nemesis, outgoing mayor Rodrigo Duterte.

In the second district of Davao City, three-term Rep. Vincent Garcia’s seat will be taken over by his sister, Mylene Garcia-Albano.

Lanao del Norte 2nd district Rep. Abdullah Dimaporo will be replaced by his daughter Fatima Aliah Dimaporo. Imelda, Abdullah’s wife and Fatima’s mother,  is representing the 1st district while the reelected governor is Mohammad Khalid.

Lanao del Sur’s 1st district Rep. Faysah Omaira Dumarpa is vacating the seat her husband Salic will be occupying.

Zamboanga del Norte’s 1st district Rep. Cecilia Carreon-Jalosjos is vacating the seat her son, Seth, will occupy.

Zamboanga del Sur’s 2nd district Rep. Antonio Cerilles is vacating the seat his wife Aurora will occupy.


In Basilan, the lone seat occupied by Wahab Akbar (previously governor; killed in a bombing incident at the parking lot of the Batasang Pambansa), will now be occupied by Hadjian S. Hattaman Salliman.

In Bukidnon’s 1st district, Candido Pancrudo, 1r. will be replaced by Jesus Emmanuel M. Paras (not Clive Quino as previously reported – our apologies),  while the seat vacated by Senator-Elect Teofisto Guingona III will be taken over by outgoing Malaybalay mayor Florencio Flores, Jr.

In Cagayan de Oro, the first district will now be represented by Jose Benjamin A. Benaldo. The outgoing representative is Rolando Uy.

In Davao del Norte, Rep. Arrel R. Olano is vacating the seat Antonio Rafael del Rosario is occupying. Del Rosario’s father, Rodolfo, was reelected governor, unopposed, and his cousin Antonio Rafael Floirendo Lagdameo, was also reelected 2nd district representative, unopposed.

In Lanao del Sur’s second congressional district, the winner will be known after the June 3 special elections in seven towns.

In Maguindanao, Rep. Didagen Dilangalen is protesting the proclamation of Bai Sandra Sinsuat-Sema, wife of outgoing Cotabato City mayor Muslimin Sema (now vice mayor), as winner.

In Misamis Occidental, Rep. Marina Clarete of the 1st district is vacating the post Oroquieta Mayor Jorge Almonte will now occupy while 2nd district Rep. Herminia Ramiro will be trading posts with Governor Loreto Leo S. Ocampos by noon of June 30.

In Misamis Oriental, Rep. Danilo Lagbas succumbed to cancer while in office. The new congressman-elect is Peter Unabia.

In North Cotabato, 1st district Rep. Emmylou Talino-Mendoza is also trading places with Governor Jesus Sacdalan. Mendoza is the new governor while Sacdalan is the new 1st district rep. The new second district representative is Nancy Catamco, vice Bernardo Pinol, Jr., whose brother, Vice Governor Emmanuel Pinol, lost the gubernatorial race. Pinol cried fraud.

In Sarangani, Emmanuel Pacquiao unseated Erwin Chiongbian as lone district representative.

In South Cotabato, three-term Rep. Darlene Antonino-Custodio and three-term mayor Pedro Acharon, Jr.,  are changing seats – she as mayor and he as 1st district representative.

In Sultan Kudarat, Raden Sakaluran is the new representative of the 1st district vice Pax Mangudadatu who withdrew from the race in preparation, reportedly of his running for governor in next year’s election in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

In Sulu, Tupay Loong won the 1st district race while outgoing vice Governor Nur-Ana Sahidulla won the 2nd congressional district race.

Sahidulla is the first woman representative from Sulu. Before her, the prominent woman from Sulu was Senator Santanina Rasul.

In Zamboanga Sibugay, Romeo Jalosjos, Jr., another son of  the former detained representative of the 1st district of Zamboanga del Norte, won the seat. (MindaNews)