Mindanao's elected: The City Mayors (2)

2nd of three parts

The 19 reelected city mayors are Dale Corvera of Cabadbaran, Dominador Jalosjos, Jr. of Dapitan, Evelyn Uy of Dipolog, Ruth de Lara Guingona of Gingoog, Lawrence Cruz of Iligan, Cherrylyn Akbar of Isabela, Aniano Antalan of the Island Garden City of Samal, Rodolfo Gantuangco of Kidapawan, Roderick Furigay of Lamitan, Fahad Salic of Marawi, Michelle Marie Denise Rabat of Mati, Samuel Co of Pagadian, Jose Silvosa of Panabo, Lino Montilla of Tacurong, Rey Uy of Tagum, Alexander Pimentel of Tandag, Philip Tan of Tangub, Leandro Jose Catarata of Valencia and Celso Lobregat of Zamboanga.

Five elected mayors bearing the same family names as the outgoing are Kim Lope Asis of Bayugan, son of outgoing mayor, Magdalena Asis; Sara Duterte-Carpio of Davao City, daughter of outgoing mayor and incoming vice mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte; Peter Miguel of Koronadal, son of outgoing mayor Fernando Miguel; Jason Almonte of Oroquieta, son of outgoing mayor and incoming 1st Rep. Jorge Almonte; Nova Parojinog-Echavez of Ozamiz, daughter of outgoing mayor Reynaldo Parojinog.

Bislig’s incoming mayor is outgoing Vice Governor Librado Navarro.

In Butuan City, Ferdinand Amante Jr. is the new mayor vice Democrito Plaza II.

In Cagayan de Oro, Constantino Jaraula did not seek a second term. Vicente Emano has returned as mayor of the city.

In Cotabato City, three-term Muslimin Sema is now vice mayor while Vice Mayor Japal Guiani, Jr., is now city mayor.

In Digos City, Joseph Penas won the mayoralty.

In El Salvador, Alfredo Tan is the new mayor

In General Santos, another Antonio has won the mayoralty: Darlene Antonino-Custodio, outgoing three-term 1st district representative of South Cotabato. Darlene’s father, Adelbert, had earlier served as mayor and 1st district representative. Her mother, Luwalhati, was three-term representative of the same district (1992 to 2001) before Darlene assumed the post in 2001. Darlene’s grandparents, Gaudencio and Magnolia, were senators. Gaudencio was running for reelection in 1967 but died a day in a helicopter crash a day before the elections. His wife Magnolia Wellborn, ran as substitute and won.

Darlene is replacing Pedro Acharon as mayor. Acharon is replacing Darlene as representative.

In Malaybalay, three-term mayor Florencio Flores, Jr. will be replaced by Vice Mayor Ignacio Zubiri.

In Surigao City, three-term mayor Alfonso Casurra Sr. will be replaced by Ernesto Matugas, brother of Francisco, the reelected 1st district Representative whose wife Sol, is the new governor of Surigao del Norte. [Tomorrow: The Representatives] (MindaNews)