Six out of Mindanao’s 27 governors are women

Of the six, four are first-term governors – Maria Valentina Plaza-Cornelio of Agusan del Sur, Jum J. Akbar of Basilan, Corazon N. Malanyaon of Davao Oriental and Geraldine Ecleo-Villaroman of the new province of Dinagat Island.

Akbar is the first wife of three-term Basilan Governor Wahab Akbar, who is now the representative to Congress.

Malanyaon was a three-term representative when she ran and won the gubernatorial race against another woman, Ma. Elena Palma Gil, a former three-term representative, too.

Villaroman is the daughter of Rep. Glenda Ecleo. She worked as Political Affairs Officer of her mother until last year.

Plaza is the daughter of  former governor Valentina G. Plaza.

The four first term women governors join two more in Mindanao – Daisy Avance-Fuentes of South Cotabato and Aurora E. Cerilles of Zamboanga del Sur.

Before becoming governor, Fuentes and Cerilles were former representatives. Cerilles is wife of  Rep. Antonio Cerilles.

Of the 27, only one province remains without a proclaimed governor following the May 14 elections: the new province of Shariff Kabungsuan which was carved out of Maguindanao.

Mindanao’s governors for 2007 to 2010:

Agusan del Norte                Erlpe John M. Amante

Agusan del Sur                   Maria Valentina G. Plaza

Basilan                             Jum J. Akbar

Bukidnon                           Jose Ma. Rubin R. Zubiri

Camiguin                           Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo

Compostela Valley              Arturo T. Uy

Davao del Sur                    Douglas Ra. Cagas

Davao Oriental                   Corazon N. Malanyaon

Dinagat Island                    Geraldine E. Villaroman

Lanao del Norte                  Mohammad Khalid Q. Dimaporo

Lanao del Sur                    Mamintal Alonto-Adiong Jr.

Maguindanao                     Datu Andal S. Ampatuan

Misamis Occidental             Loreto Leo S. Ocampos

Misamis Oriental                 Oscar R. Moreno

North Cotabato                  Jesus N. Sacdalan

Sarangani                         Miguel Rene A. Dominguez

Shariff Kabungsuan             No proclaimed winner

South Cotabato                 Daisy A. Fuentes

Sultan Kudarat                   Suharto T. Mangudadatu

Sulu                                 Abdusakur M. Tan

Surigao del Norte                Robert “Ace” S. Barbers

Surigao del Sur                  Vicente T. Pimentel, Jr.

Tawi-tawi                         Sadikul A. Sahali 

Zamboanga del Norte          Rolando E. Yebes

Zamboanga del Sur             Aurora E. Cerilles

Zamboanga Sibugay            George T. Hofer

Last year, there were only three women governors out of the then 25 provinces of Mindanao: Fuentes, Cerilles and Davao Oriental’s Ma. Elena Palma Gil. (MindaNews)