Davao del Norte's Gov. del Rosario heads group of Mindanao chief execs

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/13 November) – Davao del Norte Governor Rodolfo del Rosario was elected Friday as head of the  Confederation of Provincial Governors, City Mayors and Municipal Mayors League Presidents of Mindanao (CONFED Mindanao).

Del Rosario, who has spent several decades in executive and legislative positions, as well as a stint as the Marcos administration’s last Environment Minister before the Marcoses were ousted by People Power  in February 1986, took over from Daisy Avance-Fuentes, former three-term South Cotabato Governor who is now back to her previous post as Representative of the second district.

North Cotabato Goverrnor Emmylou “Lala” Talino, a former three-term representative, was elected Executive Vice President during the meeting Friday at the Emar’s Resort here.

Regional vice presidents were also elected to represent Mindanao’s six regions: Lanao del Sur Governor Mamintal Adiong for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM); Zamboanga Sibugay Governor Rommel Jalosjos for Region 9 (Western Mindanao or the Zamboanga region);  Iligan City Mayor Lawrence Cruz for Region 10 (Northeastern Mindanao); South Cotabato Governor Arthur Pingoy for Region 12 (Southwestern Mindanao); and Surigao del Sur Governor Johnny Pimentel for the Caraga region.

At least 22 chief executives from Mindanao’s 25 provinces, 27 cities and 25 municipal leagues attended attended. The rest of the members sent representatives.

A Board of Directors was also elected with Butuan City mayor Ferdinand Amante, Bislig City mayor Librado Navaro, Cagayan de Oro Mayor Vicente Emano, Isulan mayor Diosdado Pallasigue,  Cotabato City Mayor Japal Guiani, Panabo City mayor Jose Silvosa, Ozamiz Mayor Nova Princess Parojinog-Echavez, and Kidapawan Mayor Rodolfo Gantuangco as members.

Echavez was elected treasurer, Cruz was elected as public relations officer and Amante as auditor.

Emano, then also mayor of Cagayan de Oro City, was the first CONFED chair when it was organized in June 1990. Emano spent a considerable number of years as CONFED chair but the organization then included representatives of non-governmental organizations as members.

While organized under the first Aquino administration, the group was most active during the Ramos administration.

The group was later headed by then North Cotabato Governor Emmanuel Pinol (2004 to 2007) before Fuentes took over (2007 to 2010).

In July 2007, Fuentes presided over the reorganizational meeting of the group. CONFED Mindanao, Inc. was issued its certificate of incorporation on May 5 this year.

The group’s secretariat used to be the Mindanao Economic Development Council.  This role has now been passed on to the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA) under Luwalhati Antonino. (MindaNews)