RDC-12 to finish reorganization next month

GENERAL SANTOS CITY (MindaNews/24 September) — The Regional Development Council (RDC) of Region 12 is targeting to complete by next month its ongoing reorganization process, an official said.

Arturo Valero, acting RDC-12 chair, said they expect the formal appointment before the end of October of the council’s new chairperson and co-chairperson, who will be holding office for the next three years or until 2016.

He said the reorganization, which started in July, was based on the provisions of Executive Order (EO) 325, series of 1996, that sets the mandatory reorganization of all RDC’s in the country.

Region 12, which is also known as the Soccsksargen Region, comprises the provinces of South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato and the cities of General Santos, Koronadal, Tacurong, Kidapawan and Cotabato.

Valero, who is also the regional director of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Region 12, said the council has nominated three key officials in the region — South Cotabato Gov. Daisy Avance-Fuentes, North Cotabato Gov. Emmylou Mendoza and Tacurong City Mayor Lina Montilla — for the chairperson’s post.

For the co-chairperson, who will be coming from the council’s private sector representatives as mandated by EO 325, the nominees were Raymund Salangsang of this city, Erwin Anthony Garcia of Tacurong City and Ramon Floresta of the social sector, he said.

Valero said the appointment of the new RDC-12 chairperson and co-chairperson will be made by President Benigno S. Aquino III from among the nominees based on EO 325.

“We have submitted their names to our central office (NEDA) and we’re now complying with the clearances and other documentary requirements necessary for their appointment,” he said in a press conference on Monday afternoon.

The official cited that the end of October target for the completion of the ongoing reorganization is within the time table earlier set by the council for the entire process.

He said the RDCs of the other regions are also following the same duration and processes.

“As of today, the President has not yet made any appointment for the chair and co-chair of the other RDCs,” Valero said.

Meantime, as part of the RDC-12’s reorganization, Valero said the council has adopted 13 new geographical and sectoral private sector representatives (PSRs).

Among the new PSRs is former City Mayor and RDC-12 chairperson Darlene Antonino-Custodio, who is representing the governance and environment sector.

Custodio vacated the RDC-12 chairperson’s post in June after losing her reelection bid in the last May elections.

The former mayor was elected as chairperson of the macro-economy development, administration and finance committee of the reorganized council.

Valero said the new PSRs took their oaths recently before Koronadal City Regional Trial Court Branch 25 Judge Renato Tampac. (MindaNews)