North Cotabato rules GNABC slugfest

Winning the gold medals for North Cotbato were Pinweight Rommel Asenjo, Flyweight William Belandres, Bantamweight Larry Villanueva, Lightweight Reynaldo Belandres and Welterweight Wilfredo Lopez.

Reynaldo Belandres registered the most impressive win for North Cotbato when he retired Jason Pagaran of Misamis Oriental in round 3 with 1 minute 15 seconds left of their final bout.

However, Wilfredo Lopez who dominated Nonito Penida of Tulunan, 20-5 in their championship bout was named as the tournament’s best boxer. He received a P5,000 cash incentive for the honor.

Meanwhile, Ruly Boholts of the Misamis Oriental team bagged the gold in the Featherweight division beating Rey Juntilla of North Cotabato with a 25-11 count.

Misamis Oriental won the 1st runner-up award and went home with P15,000 cash prize.

Light flyweight Johnny Cadigal of Tulunan outscored Reginald Isunga of NorthCot, 25-17 for the gold to power his team to a second runner-up finish with 15 team points.  They won P10,000 cash prize.

Paperweight Conrado Tañamor of Universidad de Zamboanga, Zamboanga City meanwhile outslugged Romulo Ramayan of Malaybalay, Bukidnon for the gold.

Tañamor’s team, gathered 8 points to claim the tournament’s 3rd runner-up award with a P5,000 cash prize.

Jerson Barato of North Cotabato and Rodolfo Cartin of Zamboanga won the Best Judge and Best Referee awards respectively and each went home with P3,000.

His Excellency, Jaroslav Ludva, Ambassador of the Czech Republic to the Philippines led the awarding ceremony with Governor Manny Piñol and Isuzu Davao President and General Manager Milton Liu.

The 1st Governor’s National Amateur Boxing Circuit (GNABC) Isuzu Invitational Boxing Tournament is a project of the League of the Philippine Provinces’ (LPP) Guv’s for Gold” program and is part of the celebration of North Cotabato’s 92nd foundation anniversary. (Williamor A. Magbanua/MindaNews).