Ozamiz Cotta wins Kadayawan cage title

Ozamiz Cotta opened the winner-take-all finals with a 11 – 0 run and never looked back to clinch its first title after winning the prestigious National Basketball Conference (NBC) crown barely two months ago. 

Former PBA's Air 21 small-forward Bruce Dacia who was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) lcanned 15 points, six of which in the  opening period when Ozamiz pulled away to secure the victory.

Former Ginebra bigman Marlon Basco and Milfred Sampilo added 11 points apiece while Bert Alberto made 8 points all in the first period.

Ozamiz ended the first quarter with a 26 – 17 advantage and went on take a commanding 50 – 26 lead at the half.

Playing without its ace playmaker Jay-R Atablanco who was injured during their semi-finals encounter with M.Lhuiller Kwarta Padala of Cebu City, Montana failed to come up with an answer in the third period as Ozamiz cagers offense continued to sizzle.

Shooting-guard Ryan Abanes topscored for the Pawnbrokers with 18 points. John Gonzaga had 17 markers.

M.Lhuiller Kwarta Padala defeated Duterte Agilas, 75 – 67 to bag the third place honor.(Rico Biliran/MindaNews)