Carrascal rules LGU chess championships

National Master Emmanuel Senador led the Carrascal's successful stint in the annual chess tournament of local government units.

Other members of the champion team are National Master Adrian Pacis, Marlon Ricafort and Bengt Largo who manned boards 2, 3, and 4 respectively of Carrascal.
Alabang Muntinlupa "V", led by Grandmaster- candidates Darwin Laylo and Ronald Dableo received P60, 000 as runner up during the awarding rites graced by National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) president Congressman Prospero Pichay, Jr of Surigao Del Sur.

Defending champion Tagaytay City led by Grandmaster Rogelio Antonio, Jr. and Grandmaster- candidate Jayson Gonzales clinched the third place honor over PNP Quezon City.

Madrid town also from Surigao Del Sur finished fifth place followed by Davao City Chadric Builders. Host Davao City "A" with Super Grandmaster Mark Paragua ended its campaign at seveth place.

Rounding out the top 11 were Lanuza town, Surigao Del Sur, Cantilan town, Surigao Del Sur, Escalante City, Negros Occidental and Tandag town, Surigao Del Sur.
Individual awards winners were Paragua of Davao City "A" (board 1), International Master Oliver Dimakiling of Alabang Muntinlupa "U" (board 2), Ali Branzuela of PNP-Quezon City (board 3), Elias Banguiran of Gen. Santos City (board 4) and Vic Tumambing of Sta. Rosa Laguna and Horizon Villanueva of PNPN-Quezon City (board 5).A total of 39 teams, inlcuding 11 from the host Davao City saw action in the event sanctioned by NCFP and held in cooperation with Department of Interior and Local Government.