Lopez rules Duterte Christmas chess tourney

Lopez, a second year law student at the University of Mindanao bagged the P7,000 cash prize for ruling the event organized by City Sports Development Division in cooperation with National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) Southern Mindanao.

National Master Prospero Cruz who settled for a draw in the final round with his former player John Ritter Billacura of Panabo City finished second place via tiebreak.

Cruz, 46, had 6 points along with Bienvenido Tipay and Billacura who placed third and fourth respectively.
Trailing behind were Carlo Doctolero, Elias Panguiran, Rodrigo Catayas, Leopoldo Ortiz, Roland Sajetano and Harrison Maamo.

Tidoy, who ruled the Mayor Duterte-Kadayawan chess championship last August, ended his campaign at far 13th place while seeded National Master Reggie Olay of Kidapawan City and National Master Cedric Magno of Panabo City finished 21st and 29th place, with 5 and 4.5 points respectively.

More than 200 chess players from various places saw action in the event which was part of the 17 sport disciplines tapped to highlight the 2006 Pahalipay sa Pasko sportfest.