Sibayan, Diaz top Run For P.E.A.C.E

Sibayan, 23, who took the lead in the final seven kilometers, crossed the finish line one hour, 13 minutes and 21seconds to clinch the men’s title over fellow Compostela Valley native Reynante Villarma.

Villarma, who managed to keep pace with Sibayan in the first 14 kilometers, placed second with a clock of 1:14:48, while Orland Leonor came in third at 1:19:08.

“From the start I really expected to win and I’m happy I did it,” said Sibayan, a fourth year criminology student who placed second during the First BIMP-EAGA International Marathon here three months ago.

On the distaff side, former national team member Ma. Stella Mamac-Diaz put a distance between herself and a pack of new Philippine National Police recruits in the latter stages of the race.

Diaz, who won numerous titles, including the prestigious Milo National Marathon, registered 1:33: 59 to capture the women’s crown.

Merlie Edullantes who clocked 1:45:41, placed second. A PNP recruit was a far third.

In the 10-k run, Tagum City bet Juneil Bonsit and Monalisa Ambasa of Davao Del Sur topped their respective classes.

Bonsit clocked 34 minutes and 53 seconds and Ambasa clocked 44 minutes and 26 seconds to win the titles.

In the 5-k run, Joeben Carolina of Tagum City won the men’s title with a clock of 16:42.30 while Racquel Rosel bagged the women’s title by timing 23:16.90.

City Administrator Atty. Wendel Avisado, Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Commissioner Leon Montemayor and Supt. Jesus Unabia, chief of the organizing committee, awarded cash prizes to the winners.

“I would like to express my gratitude to the corporations and individuals who provided support for this activity and made this event a successful one, “ Unabia said.

Some 1,600 runners saw action in the race organized by the Regional Training School XI and backed by Davao City Sports Development Division and Davao City Sports Council.

The one-day event was supported by city of government of Davao, Department of Education, Department of Health and Department of Social Welfare and Development.