Davao City hosts Milo Run Sunday

The one-day event will have 3-k, 5k and the centerpiece 21-k run.

The winner in the 21-k will qualify for the national finals on November 18 in Manila.
Last year’s men's 21-k winner Reynante Villarma of Tagum City is favored to retain his title. However, with the absence of defending champion Leisyl Guitaruelas the race is wide open in the women’s side.

Some P160, 000 cash prizes and trophies are up for grabs in the race, the third of the six Mindanao leg series after Gen. Santos City and Zamboanga City.

Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Commissioner Leon "Binggoy" Montemayor is the guest of honor in the affair, which will be attended by Milo AVP for sports Pat Goc Ong and Milo marathon national organizer Rudy Biscocho.

After Davao City, the running competition will be going back to Metro Manila before the Cagayan De Oro City leg on Sptember 30, Iligan City leg on October 7 and Butuan City leg on the following weekend.

The first MILO Marathon was first held on May 26, 1974, with some 767 runners taking part in the affair.