KC to honor top regional athletes

Claiming the top award are jumper Teodoro Nonato and long-distance runner Joanne Banayag who were named athletes of the year.

Nonato, 19, was cited as the top male regional athlete after winning two gold medals in the 2007 National PRISAA championship held in Iloilo City.

The former Holy Cross track team member who placed 15th over-all in the World Juniors track and Field competition in China last year, won the long jump gold medal while representing Team Mindanao Philippines during the 5th BIMP-EAGA Games in Makassar City, Indonesia.

Banayag, who also won numerous National PRISAA gold medals, was picked as the top female athlete for the second time with her laudable performance in winning back to back Milo Marathon national finals.

She also won the athlete of the year honor last year.

Nonato and Banayg will join the ranks of cue artist Lee Van Corteza, tarckstar Percila Molina, diver Shiela Mae Perez, long-distance runner Roy Ocon and many more who previously won the award.

International master Oliver Dimakiling of Davao City will now get the distinction of joining the Hall of Fame of the 13th So Kim Cheng Sports Awards Night on July 22.

Dimakiling, 2006 athlete of the year awardee, will get the honor for putting the country in the chess map by winning in various international competitions.

Organizer Vic Sai said they have invited Senator Pia Cayetano to grace the affair that will commemorate the birthday of the late sports patron So Kim Cheng.

Citations will also be awarded to Ateneo de Davao for winning the National SBP Milo BEST Center Championship, Holy Child School of Davao for bagging the Adidas Streetball title, University of Mindanao for clinching the National PRISAA women's basketball, women's softball, men's baseball, sepak takraw, athletics, and men's lawn tennis crowns, Davraa Boxing Team for emerging over all champion in the Palarong Pambansa.

Daciba Phoenix Team (FEDBOP National Champions), Jetha Villanueva (Davao City badminton coach), Datu Uchida Development Foundation, Fil-Chinese Firefighters Foundation, Police Supt.Jesus Baylosis Unabia, Karancho and Island Garden City of Samal for supporting amateur cycling will also be awarded.

Other awardees include athletes who brought honor to the region as recommended by their respective National Sports Association (NSA).

Top executives of the SKC Foundation led by its chairman So Peng Kee will grace the affair.

Davao City Vice Mayor Sara Duterte, Philippine Sports Commission Chairman William Ramirez, City Sports Coordinator Christopher "Bong" Go and Sangguniang Kabataan president April Marie Dayap, are among the invited guests.