Brgy. Leon Garcia wins DBL crown

Most valuable player Jerson dela Peña led the charge for L. Garcia by canning 16 of his total 20 points in the first half and his teammates maintained the momentum to stop the Toril-based cagers.
The L. Garcia dribblers worked harder in the third canto and outgunned Daliao by 10 points and employed a better defense to keep their rivals from catching up.
Boy Garces topscored for L. Garcia with 22 markers.
Daliao fought hard all throughout but fell short to take away the title from L. Garcia.
Daliao had a hard time to keep pace with L. Garcia despite the combined efforts of Piloto, Pitulan, Lapuz and Paraiso who joined hands for 52 points.
In the other game of the tournament presented by Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and supported by City Sports Coordinator Christopher “Bong” Go, Barangay Sasa annexed the third spot with an 88-81 victory over Barangay Tibungco.
After the 39-39 deadlock at the end of the first half, Sasa made the adjustments to outscore Tibungco in the final half.
Davao City's 182 barangays took the part in the tournament held annually by the Sports Development Division-City Mayor's Office. (Rico Biliran / MindaNews)