Panabo wins softball tourney

Panabo, led by its standout Carmelo Bastida, stood their ground and played better defense to beat the Watermen headed by Arnold Sarabia.
The Matina Boys blasted host UM, 6-2, to win the third spot of the tournament presented by Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and supported by City Sports Coordinator Christopher “Bong” Go and Asaphil-Davao.
A simple celebration took place at the residence of the late Judge Edipolo V. Sarabia Sr., the acknowledged godfather of softball and baseball in the region, where the players also celebrated the death anniversary of the former player, coach, and supporter of the sport.
The late judge’s wife Anita led the family members and players in the ceremony attended also by the staff of the Sports Development Division-City Mayor’s Office.
In darts, Jojo Barrellano and Henny Pagaran played consistently to lead winners in the men’s and women’s divisions, respectively, in the Pamaskong Handog ni Mayor Rodrigo Duterte Darts Tournament Sunday night at the Mantex Ihaw-Ihaw.
Jet Rosales placed second in the men’s division while Chato Enriquez finished runner-up to Pagaran.
Bebot Mangle came in third followed by Boy Go and Mark Wenceslao at fourth spots in the men’s division, while Liza Bajado trailed Enriquez for third place and Joy Arcega wound up fourth.
In the three-man team, the team of Mark Wenceslao won over the group of Bong Dalay while Barellano and his members settled at third while the Rolly Gano squad took the fourth spot.
In table tennis, Lyndel Sellado and Gil Ablanque topped their respective divisions in the Pamaskong Handog ni Mayor Rodrigo Duterte Table Tennis Tournament Sunday at the S.I.R. Elementary School Table Tennis Center.
Sellado defeated Loren Erika Mendiola in the girl's 14-year-old and under finals while Ablanque stopped Francis Francisco in the boy's finals.
Jacknel Candangan and Rechiane Senining landed at third spots.

In the men's singles, Jong Ortalla beat Michael Dalumpines while Arnold Ang took the third spot.
Jacqueline Caragao walloped Mirabel Roferos in the women's singles finals while Jocelyn Enaro clinched third place.
In class B, Generoso Roferos downed Arthur Medrano in the finals while Antonio Sombong took the third spot.
The tournaments were presented by Mayor Rodrigo Duterte with the support of City Sports Coordinator Christopher "Bong" Go and National Sports Association (NSA) regional chapters. (Rico Biliran / MindaNews)