SPORTS: Powerhouse, UM, Holy Cross share DC-PRISAA athletics plum

Holy Cross hauled 24 gold, 15 silver and 10 bronze medals to clinch the men's division title while UM reaped 32 of the 39 gold medals at stake along with five silvers and four bronzes to capture the women's crown.
Led by middle distance runner Philip Ocon who won six gold medals, Holy Cross topped the men's medal board with huge victories in medal-rich relay events over UM which placed second with 15-22-2 gold-silver-bronze performance.
Ocon, who won numerous gold medals in the previous national PRISAA competitions, pocketed the gold in his favorite 800 meters and 1,500 meters and led the Holy Cross relay team to golden performances in 4x200m, 4x400m, 4x800m and classical relay.
The BIMP-EAGA gold medallist crossed the finish line 2:13.56 to bag the gold in the coveted 800 meters.
His teammate Flor Guimagan settled for silver with 2:21.00 while University of Mindanao's Belierba Satumcacal took the bronze after clocking 2:30.01.
Long distance runner Joselito Dugos contributed two gold medals to the Toto Lacanaria-mentored Holy Cross gold medal production by topping the 5-kilometer and 10,000-meter run.
In the women's side, UM stamped its class, ruling all contests apart from throwing event that was dominated by Holy Cross which clinched the second spot with 7-21-1 gold-silver-bronze showing.
Jose Maria College ended its campaign at third place with three silvers and six bronze medals.
Genebeth Cantila, a middle distance runner, took six gold medals and a silver across her name to lead UM's medal production.
Cantila, who settled with silver in the long jump, won the gold in the 800 meters and 1,500 meters and led the UM relay team to win the gold in 4×100, 4×200, 4×400 and 4×800 relay events.
Vivian Avergonzado chipped in three gold medals for UM which dominated all the events except throwing. Avergonzado, a national medallist, topped the 5-kilometer, 10-kilometer run and 3,000 meters.
Holy Cross ace thrower Johanna Mae Pacaldo, a Palarong Pambansa medallist, won the gold in shot put and discuss throw.
In men's basketball, University of Mindanao Wildcats won their four consecutive titles by beating Agro Industrial Foundation College, 89-79 Sunday at the UM Matina Gym.
Arnold Adormeo, Ryan Calimpong and Aldrin Blanco combined for 44 points to lead the charge for UM.
Brokenshire College bested Rizal Memorial College (RMC), 104-97, to cop the third place plum.
In the distaff side, UM clobbered RMC, 103-55, to capture the title. Brokenshire College placed third by beating San Pedro College, 61-58. (Rico Biliran / MindaNews)