VM Duterte’s team rules Davao City cycling tourney

University of Mindanao placed second with a time of 15:13.20, trailing most of the way Team Inday Sara bannered by Marcial Catangue, Glen Yap, Dany Tapao, Tatu Labaya, Alan Salutillo, and team captain Rosano Bontia.

Team 3MJ-Gen.Santos ended its campaign at third place with 15:43.14 and the Great Circle Logistics at fourth with 15:52.14.

Inday Sara topped the Samal event in 11 hours and 46 seconds, beating UM which clocked 11:05.18, and Great Circle Logistics/Kambras which finished the race in 11:11.39.

Glen Yap took the individual title for Inday Sara while the runner-up was a promising young rider, Marvin Aleonar. Glen Ibanez settled for third place.

In the veterans class, Jerry Castillon of 3MJ won over Danny Samaniego and Dominic Carpio while Romeo Mascardo shared the limelight by taking the juniors title over Nathaniel Caresma and Andrew Jurilla.

Joel Parba bagged the masters title at the expense of Carlofer Salonga and Andres Pedregosa.

Hilario Saronel was the oldest rider at 66 while the youngest participant was Cliff Collence Prospero.

PhilCycling regional director Salvador Paholio Jr. thanked the supporters of the recent Araw ng Dabaw-Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte Cycling Challenge for the success of the race.

Radio Mindanao Network's dxDC, Davao City Sports Coordinator Christopher "Bong" Go, Unilever Phils., Emperador Brandy, Lipovitan Amino sports, Phoenix Fuels, Coca-Cola, Rain Water, 3rd District Rep.Isidro Ungab, Davao Sports Council Inc., Karancho Inc.and SK Federation president Halila Sudagar backed the race.

In chess, law student Henry John Lopez overwhelmed titled veteran chess players to bag the Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte and Vice Mayor Inday Sara – 71st Araw ng Dabaw Open Chess Tournament at the Market Basket in Damosa Gateway.

Lopez, SEA Paralympics gold medalist, tallied 6.5 points to clinch the title in the tournament, one of the 17 sport events that highlighted the Araw ng Dabaw sporting conclave.

Cagayan de Oro City bet and National Master (NM) Levi Mercado beat four other 6.0 scorers via tiebreak to grab the runner-up honors.

NM Jimmy Dano placed third followed by Erwin Aton, Perkins Bayron and Carlo Doctolero in fourth, fifth and sixth places, respectively.

In dama, hometown bet Cerelio  Enobio took the spotlight after bagging the Mayor Rodrigo  and Duterte and Vice Mayor Inday Sara – 71st Araw ng Dabaw Dama competition played at the Osme¢¥a Park.

Enobio beat Daniel Asor from Digos City in the finals to claim the masters crown. Edwin Cabalquinto placed third and Roy Rodas bagged the fourth place. (Rico Biliran/MindaNews)