City gov’t awards cash incentives to Davaoeno SEAG medalists

The medallists were top-billed by Olympic-bound divers Shiela Mae Perez and Ryan Rexel Fabriga, who each received P25,000 each for their single gold and silver medals respectively.

Acting Mayor Sara Z. Duterte awarded cash incentives to the Davaoeño athletes in a brief awarding rite held at the Pag-asa Bar of the Marco Polo Hotel.

Duterte handed over a total of P260,000 cash gifts. A gold medal would be awarded P15,000,  a silver with P10,000 and a bronze with P5,000.
Perez and Fabriga personally received their cash bonus from Duterte but many of the other awardees were in Manila. Their parents received the awards on their behalf.

Last December, the Davaoeño medalists also received cash incentives from President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

“More than the cash gift, we congratulate them (the athletes) for bringing honor and pride for the city and the country,“ Duterte said.

She encouraged the athletes “to continue to work hard for better glory”.

“We are very thankful for the cash bonus given by Vice Mayor Duterte,“ said Rodrigo Porala, father of Ruditha who was part of the 10-member women's traditional boat race that won bronze medal in the 1,000-meter contest.

Luvelyn Maganda, who played a vital role in the gold medal finish of the national softball squad, brought home P15,000. Cue artist Lee Van Corteza and Mary Anne Basas got P10,000 apiece for winning silver in the men's 9-ball and women's 6-Red snooker, respectively.
Other awardees were marathoner Jho-Ann Banayag (silver), batters Edmer Del Socorro and RuelBatuto (bsilver), golfer Jhonnel Ababa (silver), traditional boar racer Amina Anuddi and Sanita Kasim (silver), diver Jaime Asok (gold), diver Zardo Domenios and Nino Carog (silver), tri-athlete George Vilog (silver), sailor Richly Magsanay (silver), judoka Ruth Duga-Duga (bronze) and water polo team member-brothers Frazier and Norton Alamara and Monsuito Pelenio (silver).   (Rico Biliran / MindaNews)