Lumawag Cup winners announced

Danny Balucos, who writes Rural Views for MindaNews, Lumawag’s buddy at MindaNews and now a lawyer, won the championship round for the men’s doubles with teammate Jeffrey Tupas of Inq7.

Winning the championship for the women’s doubles were Mariez Robilla of UM Broadcasting Network and Susan Paredes of National Broadcasting Network while Harold Warren Sarabia of Studio 23 and Cheryl Codilan of UMBN were declared champions in the mixed doubles.

The tournament, open to all bona fide media practitioners and employees of media institutions in Davao City was held in honor of photo editor Gene Boyd Rodriguez Lumawag, who was killed in Jolo, Sulu on November 12, 2004 while on his way back to the hotel from shooting the sunset from the pier.

The one-day tournament, presented by San Miguel Beer and Holiday Gym and Spa, was organized by the office of Councilor Leo Avila and Mindanao Times with San Miguel Beer as presenter.

In the men’s doubles, the first runner u pwre Danny Dacanay of ABC2 and Laurence Bation of DXAB while Primo Bokingkito and Harold Warren Sarabia of Studio 23 won 2nd runner up.

In the women’s doubles, the first runner up were Cheryl Codilan of UMBN, who also won the championship in the mixed doubles, and Susan Paredes, who won 1st runner up in the mixed doubles. The second runner up went to Sheryl Pueblos of UMBN and Sharon Miole of DXRR.

In the mixed doubles, PDI Mindanao Bureau chief Nico Alconaba of INQ7 and Susan Paredez of NBN won the 1st runner up while Laurence Bation of DXAB and Mariez Robilla of UMBN won 2nd runner up. (MindaNews)