Davao cager joins pool for SEABA tourney

A product of Holy Child School of Davao’s basketball program, the 6-foot Raphael Nayve was selected by Nokia RP–Under16 coaching staff led by chief mentor Eric Altamirano to be part of the 24-member national pool.

Nayve, 15, who plays for San Beda High School in Manila, joined the tryout conducted early this month.

The advisory committee composed of San Beda coach Ato Badolato, Ateneo juniors coach Jamike Jarin and FEU juniors mentor Horacio Lim screened at least 170 aspirants during a special camp and open tryouts at the Jacinto Tiu Sports Center in Xavier School in San Juan recently. 

“I’m proud of him (Nayve),” HCSD trainer Nestor Sorosa told MindaNews.

In a text message, Sorosa, an assistant to head coach Ildefonso Cunanan, wished Nayve “good luck and more power”.

Nayve helped steered HCSD to the Gaisano South Cup cadet (under 14) championship in 2007 before moving to San Beda.

He was then part of the mythical five, occupying the small forward position, of the league, touted as the biggest school-based league in the region.

Since he also bagged the NBTC Davao’s sharp shooter plum while playing for the NBTC team in the Nike Summer League, Nayve’s selection came as no surprise for the Davao coaches, including collegiate tacticians.

“I’m not surprised, “said Ateneo de Davao University Blue Knights head coach Pochollo Elegino, who is also one of the groups of coaches for NBTC Davao.

“I saw his potential when I handled him for the NBTC. He’s tall, very athletic and has a very good work ethic. He’s all out in every practice,” said Elegino, the GS Cup 2007 coach of the year.

For his part, Agro Industrial Foundation College Sailors head coach Mateo Cubero said “Nayve is a good player”.

Majority of the pool members are products of the ongoing Nokia National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) D-League, a grassroots program aimed at producing well-rounded players for future national teams.

“We thank all of those who attended the tryouts and congratulate those who made the pool. May their God-given skills approximate their willingness to play for flag and country,” executive director Noli Eala said.

The team, which is under the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas headed by Manny Pangilinan, will be trimmed down to a 15-man lineup in time for the SEABA Youth tourney.

The other members of the pool are John Aldrin Lunas (San Beda Taytay), Kiefer Ravena (5-11, Ateneo), Cris Michael Tolomia (5-10, FEU), Bobby Ray Parks Jr. (6-4, St. George International School) and Michael Anthony Pate (5-11, International School for Better Beginners in Lucena), Kristoffer de la Costa (San Beda-Taytay), Jay Christian De La Cruz (6’0”, Sacred Heart School in Cebu), Hero Tomilloso (6’0”, ICCS in Iloilo), Jasjit Dhaliwal (6’1 1/2, La Salle Greenhills), Mark Anthony Dia (6’1”, UST), Jasper Diaz (6’1”, La Salle Greenhills);

Kevin Ferrer (6’2”, UST), Jeoffrey Javillonar (6’0”, Benedictine International School), Cederick Labing-isa (5’7”, UST), Von Rolfe Pessumal (6’1”, Ateneo), Franz Luis Pumaren (5’9”, La Salle Greenhills), Jeron Teng (5’11”, Xavier), Gabriel Reyes (6’0”, Southridge), Paolo Luis Romero (6’1” 1/2 , Ateneo), Brian James So (6’1”, Letr
an), Rene Sta. Maria (6’1”, La Salle Greenhills), Thomas Torres (5’6” 1/2, La Salle Greenhills) and Joseph Trajano (5’8”, La Salle Greenhills). (Rico Biliran/MindaNews)