Erap wins in town named after Ninoy Aquino

SSENATOR NINOY AQUINO, Sultan Kudarat (MindaNews/11 May) — Joseph Estrada won the Presidential race in this town named after the father of national frontrunner, Senator Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino.

Estrada won 10,118 votes against Aquino’s 2,588; Manuel Villar’s 223; Eddie Villanueva’s 209, Gilberto Teodoro’s 84; Acosta’s 51; Richard Gordon’s 26; Nicanor Perlas’ 22 and Jamby Madrigal’s 4.

In the vice presidential race, Estrada’s running mate Jejomar Binay got 5,995 votes against Loren Legarda’s 3,239, Manuel Roxas’ 2,894 and Edu Manzano’s 146.

In one area, voting was extended up to 10 p.m. at the Gapok Elementary School because of the defective precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machines.

Also, some ballots had to be cut on the side as they would not fit the PCOS machine. In Kuden’s Cluster 18 consisting of 712 voters, voting started at 7:25 a.m. but stopped after 16 ballots were cast because the ballots were oversized.

Members of the Board of Election Inspectors started cutting the sides at 10:45 a.m. Five minutes later, voting resumed. A total of 14,087 cast their votes.

Mayor Dante Damasco Mangaan of the Nacionalista Party was reelected with 7,353 votes while Carmen Nor of Liberal Party got 6,322 votes.

Mangaan’s running mate, Emelly Delos Santos-Herezo, won 7,336 votes against Lucrecia Ordinario’s 5,957 votes. (Eizel Hilario/MindaNews)