Imelda Dimaporo proclaimed as 1st district Lanao Norte rep

ILIGAN CITY (MindaNews/12 May)— The Commission on Elections in Lanao del Norte proclaimed Imelda Quibranza Dimaporo as winner in the congressional race in the first district at 6 p.m. May 10.

Proclaimed board members were Giselle Matalines, Casimero Bagol, Baldomero Zamora, Alexander Ali and Mohammad Maruhom.

Irma Rosales, assistant to provincial election officer Irma Rosales said that as of 8 p.m. today, 15 towns have already transmitted results of election turn-outs, but they are still waiting for the transportation of results from eight towns.

The towns that have been canvassed are Baloi, Bacolod, Baroy, Kapatagan, Kolambugan, Lala, Linamon, Magsaysay, Maigo, Matungao, Pantar, Sapad, Tagoloan and Tubod.

The towns of Munai, Pantaoragat, Salvador, Poona Piagapo, Nunungan, Tangkal and Sultan Naga Dimaporo have not reported election results yet.

The provincial Comelec office is also waiting for the transmission of canvassed results from Iligan city for record purposes only.

Col. Cresente Ferrer, commanding officer of the 601st Infantry Brigade and Comelec’s Rosales said these towns have problems with their compact discs.

Ferrer said Nunungan’s compact flash disc is being reformatted at Comelec’s regional office in Cagayan de Oro city.

Ferrer also reported the elections in Lanao del Norte as “generally peaceful.”

“Nobody died and nobody is wounded,” he said. (Violeta M. Gloria/MindaNews)