Villar wins in Ampatuan areas

upDATED: SHARIFF AGUAK, Maguindanao (MindaNews/11May) — Presidential bet Manuel Villar, the first to concede to Presidential frontrunner, Senator Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III, won in Ampatuan-controlled areas here, results of the first 12 towns with transmitted results, show.

Villar (Nacionalista Party) got a total of 43,075 votes against Aquino’s 27,056 in thetowns of Ampatuan, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Shariff Aguak, Datu Piang, Guinduungan, Mamasapano, Pagagawan, Pandag, Talitay, Sultan Sa Barongis, Kabuntalan and Datu Hoffer Ampatuan.

These towns were the first to transmit their results to the provincial board of canvassers as of 9:30 a.m. May 11.

In the 12 towns, Villar won in six, Aquino in five and the ruling party’s standard bearer Gilbert Teodoro in one.

Villar won 11,250 votes in Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, against Aquino’s 273 and Joseph Estrada’s 703.

Villar also won in Shariff Aguak, the provincial capital and hometown of the Ampatuans (7,657 votes against Aquimno’s 1,072 and Estrada’s 777); in Mamasapano (5,217 votes against Aquino’s 794 and Teodoro’s 160; in Guindulungan (3,847 votes against Aquinos 2,23 and Estrada’s 154); in Pagagawan (3,097 votes against Aquino’s 822); and in Datu Abdullah Sangki (1,808 votes against Aquino’s 890 and Estrada’s 1,030).

Aquino won in Ampatuan town (6,275 votes against Estrada’s 2,529 and Villar’s 1,859); Pandag (4,200 votes against Villar’s 355 and Teodoro’s 1,146); in Sultan Sa Barongis (1,861 votes against Villar’s 1,654 and Teodoro’s 872); in Talitay (1,002 votes against Villar’s 471 and Teodoro’s 32); and Kabulnan (4,192 votes against Villar’s 2,573 and 348).

Teodoro won in Datu Piang town with 8,494 votes against Aquino’s 3,442 and Villar’s 3,287. (Carolyn O. Arguillas/MindaNews)