Winners of Bisaya short story writing tilt known

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews/10 October) — The winners of the Satur P. Apoyon Tigi sa Mubong Sugilanong Binisaya were pronounced by the Board of Judges today, contest organizers said in a statement.

The first prize winner is the short story “Laksoy” by Al Ponciano R. Datu, a sheriff of the Regional Trial Court of Misamis Oriental.

“Sa Kalsada,” by Paul Randy P. Gumanao, a student of Ateneo de Davao University, bagged the second prize.

Jayson E. Parba, a literature professor of Capitol University, Cagayan de Oro City, won the third prizr for his “Pinikas”.

The Board of Judges was composed of accomplished writers Macario Tiu and Agustin “Don” Pagusara, and filmmaker Arnel Mardoquio.

The awarding ceremonies will be held on Saturday, October 15, 3:00pm at Lispher Inn in Davao City. Certificates of awards and participation will be given to all contestants.

The other entries were “Banagbanag sa Kilumkilom” by Jonecito R. Saguban,  “Mga Aninipot sa Udtong Tutok” by Raul G. Moldez, “Ang Buyog sa Akong Kinabuhi” by Jeepy P. Compio, “Achievement Report” by Nef T. Luczon;

“Domingo” by Jeffrey B. Javier, “Granada” by Edmond Julian de la Cerna, “Ang Binotilyang Kusog” by Rogell Kim M. Ticar, “Miss Salvacion” by Dario Formento, “Libog” by Angelo Lenard Yu, and “Blue Notebook” by Cherry Ann A. Pepito.

The contest was sponsored by the National Commission on Culture and the Arts and organized by the Davao Writers Guild. (MindaNews)