CMU grad tops 2012 agriculturist board exams

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews/07 August) – An agriculture graduate from Central Mindanao University in Musuan, Maramag, Bukidnon topped the July 2012 agriculturist board examinations, according to the results released by the Professional Regulations Commission (PRC) .

Carolina D. Amper, a resident of Musuan, obtained a rating of 87.5 percent.

Another CMU graduate, Alfritz L. Ceballos placed 9th with a rating of 84.67 percent. He shared the ninth spot with Rowel Calapotoc Bartolome of the University of Southeastern Philippines-Tagum.

Dr. Ma Luisa Soliven, CMU president, welcomed the feat for CMU.

“We are so happy and proud (CMU is) producing top caliber graduates,” she said.

Just last week, CMU also was in the spotlight when Ma. Juana B. Polinar, who graduated magna cum laude in April 2012, was awarded as one of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines.

Polinar took political science at CMU and is now pursuing her law degree.

Soliven said Amper works as CMU’s university registrar and teaches at the College of Agriculture.

She attributed the achievements to the university’s commitment to provide “excellent and quality education.”

Soliven said that since last year CMU is second to the University of the Philippines Los Baños in terms of board passing percentage for schools whose examinees numbered 100 and above.
Ma. Socorro P. Aratan of Xavier University in Cagayan de Oro City and Joan P. Sadoral of the University of Southern Mindanao Kabacan (North Cotabato) both ranked 8th.


A total of 3,518 examinees took the board examinations held in the cities of Manila, Baguio, Cagayan de Oro, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, Legazpi, Lucena, Tacloban, Tuguegarao and Zamboanga from July 29 to 31, 2012. Only 1,334 or 37.91 percent passed.


The complete list of the top ten examinees:

1. Carolina D Amper, CMU 87.50
2. Haroun Cordova Alcanzare, University of the Philippines-Los Baños (UPLB) 86.67
3. Virracel Ornopia Luansing, UPLB 86.50
4. Bernadette Tabernilla Baer, UPLB 85.67
5. Renesito Magbanua Labnao, University of Antique-Hamtic 85.33
6. Julie Ross Malicdem Datuin, UPLB 85.17
Charmaine Diwa Espinosa, UPLB 85.17
Louterio Allam Sanchez Jr., Isabela State University-Cabagan 85.17
7. Marjon Santiago Libong, Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-Bacnotan 85.00
Camilo Brazil Palacol, UPLB 85.00
8. Maria Socorro Pausal Aratan Xavier University 84.83
Carlos Paul Cruz Pedracio, Central Luzon State University 84.83
Joan Pinoon Sadoral, University of Southern Mindanao Kabacan 84.83

Sunshine Hael Singun, UPLB 84.83
9. Rowel Calapotoc Bartolome, University of Southeastern Philippines-Tagum 84.67
Alfritz Lobetania Ceballos, CMU 84.67
Virginia Isabelle Gueco Mapa, Tarlac College of Agriculture 84.67
10. Christian Peralta Manice, Pangasinan State University-Sta. Maria 84.50. (Walter I. Balane/MindaNews)