15 Mindanao provinces now under storm signal no. 3

ILIGAN CITY (MindaNews / 3 Dec) – Fifteen Mindanao provinces are now under Public Storm Warning Signal No. 3 as Typhoon Pablo further moves closer to the island, according to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).

In an advisory issued 11 p.m. Monday, PAGASA said Pablo is now 230 km southeast of the municipality of Hinatuan in Surigao del Sur and moving westward at a speed of 26 kph.

Now in Signal No. 3 are Surigao del Norte, Siargao, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Province, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Bukidnon, Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, North Cotabato, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte and Davao del Norte (including Samal Island).

PAGASA said areas under Signal No. 3 will have “winds of 101-185 kph … expected in at least 18 hours.”

The weather bureau said, too, that Pablo is forecast to bring in rainfall of about 15-30mm per hour, which it classified as heavy to intense.

Under signal no. 2 are the provinces of Misamis Occidental, Davao del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Sultan Kudarat and Maguindanao. Under signal no. 1 are Zamboanga Sibugay, Basilan, Sarangani and South Cotabato.

PAGASA said that in areas under signal no. 3, there is “expected heavy damage to agriculture” and “some large trees (are) uprooted.” It likewise warned that “majority of nipa and cogon houses (will be) unroofed destroyed, (with) considerable damage to
structures of
light to medium construction.”

Further, electrical power and communication services are likely to be disrupted, and PAGASA advised against travel by land, sea and air as
it is “dangerous.”. (Bobby Timonera / Mindanews)