18 of 26 Mindanao govs seek reelection; 6 unopposed; 6 ex-govs running again

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/27 January) – Eighteen of 26 Mindanao governors are seeking reelection on May 13 but six of them need not campaign: they are running unopposed.
As in past elections in Mindanao, it’s still all in the family as the same faces and surnames are vying for or trading elective posts.
Six former governors want to return to their posts, one of them already a winner because she is unopposed. Four sons are running for the gubernatorial posts their fathers occupied for at least three terms; two daughters and a brother of former governors are also running.
The six incumbent governors who are running unopposed include the governors of the provinces badly battered by Typhoon Pablo: Davao Oriental’s Corazon Malanyaon (NP) and Compostela Valley’s Arturo Uy. (LP).
The four other unopposed governors are Agusan del Norte’s Ma. Angelica Amante-Matba (LP), a former three-term governor and incumbent 2nd District Representative who will trade posts with her brother Erlpe John Amante (Kusgan Agusanon Party). Erlpe,  the incumbent governor, is running for 2nd District Rep, also. unopposed; Davao del Norte’s Rodolfo del Rosario (LP), Sarangani’s Steve Chiongbian Solon of  UNA-People’s Champ Movement, the incumbent vice governor to Governor Miguel Rene Dominguez who is completing this third term; and Zamboanga del Sur’s Antonio Cerilles.
Six former governors want to make a comeback: Agusan del Norte’s Amante who has won even before the elections because she is unopposed;  Bukidnon’s Jose Ma. Zubiri ( Bukidnon Paglaum Party) against Delfina Bicatulo (Ind), Lynard Allan Bigcas (Ind) and Romeo Zuce (Ind) while incumbent Governor Calingasan, Zubiri’s vice governor until 2010, is running for vice governor; Emmanuel Pinol (NPC) of North Cotabato) against incumbent Governor Emmylou Talino-Mendoza (LP) and Zahman Rajahmuda (Ind),  Daisy Avance-Fuentes (NPC) of South Cotabato, against reelectionist Arturo Pingoy (UNA) and former Koronadal City Mayor Fernando Miguel (Lakas-CMD); Robert Lyndon Barbers of Surigao del Norte (NP), against reelectionist Sol Matugas (LP) and Nestor Madelo (Ind); and Rashidin Matba of Tawi-tawi against Nurbert Sahali (LP) and Rep.Nur Jaafar (NPC).
Three sons of incumbent governors want to be governor: Marc Douglas Cagas of Davao del Sur, Abdusakur Tan II of Sulu and Nurbert Sahali of Tawi-tawi.

The younger Cagas (NP), 1st district Representative of Davao del Sur is son of Governor Douglas Cagas who is running for Digos City mayor; Abdusakur Tan II is  son of Sulu Governor Abdsusakur Tan who is running for vice governor while Nurbert Sahali is son of  three-term Governor Sadikul Sahali, who is retiring from politics;.
A son of a former governor is also running for governor: Misamis Oriental Rep. Yvgeny “Bambi” Emano (NP), son of former Governor Vicente Emano, who is seeking reelection as Cagayan de Oro City mayor.

Two daughters and a sibling of former governors are also running for governor: Rabia Salapuddin (Lakas-CMD), the only daughter of former Basilan Governor and Rep. Gerry Salapuddin and Rita Gallardo (LP), daughter of former Camiguin Governor Antonieto Gallardo.
Incumbent Dinagat Vice Governor Geraldine Ecleo is challenging her Glenda’s bid for a third term as Governor.
Davao del Sur Rep. Claude Bautista of Davao del Sur, brother of former governor Benjamin Bautista, Jr., is running for governor against the son of incumbent governor Douglas Cagas.
The 18 incumbent governors seeking another term:  Agusan del Sur’s Adolph Edward Plaza (NUP or National Unity Party) against Dickens Otero (LP) and Ben Cebuala (Ind); Basilan’s Jum Akbar (LP) against Rabia Salapuddin of Lakas-CMD; Camiguin’s Jurdin Jesus Romualdo (NPC) against LP’s Rita Gallardo, daughter of a former governor.
Compostela Valley’s Arturo Uy (LP). Unopposed.
Davao del Norte’s Rodolfo del Rosario (LP). Unopposed.
Davao Oriental’s Corazon Malanyaon (NP). Unopposed.
Dinagat Islands province Glenda Ecleo (NP), against her own daughter, Geraldine (LP);
Lanao del Norte’s Mohamad Khalid Dimaporo (NPC), against the LP’s Casan Maquiling and Diego Palomares, Jr., (Ind);
Lanao del Sur’s Mamintal Adiong (LP) is running against Ahmadijan Abdulcarim (Ind), Arab Aguam (Ind), Omar Ali (Ind) and Amer Pangandaman (NPC);
Maguindanao’s Esmael Mangudadatu (LP) is pitted against lone rival, Tucao Mastura (PDP), incumbent mayor of Sultan Kudarat town;
Misamis Oriental’s Herminia Ramiro is running against Pacita Yap (Ind).
North Cotabato’s Emmylou Talino-Mendoza is running for a second term against former three-term Governor Emmanuel Pinol (NPC) and Zaman Rajahmuda (Ind):
South Cotabato’s Arthur Pingoy (UNA) is facing former three-term Governor Daisy Avance-Fuentes (NPC) and former Koronadal City Mayor Fernando Miguel (Lakas-CMD).
Sultan Kudarats Governor Suharto “Teng” Mangudadatuis against Ephraim Defino (Ind) and Tacurong Mayor Lino Montilla (LP);
Surigao del Sur’s Johnny Pimentel (LP) against Anecito Murillo (Ind);
Surigao del Norte’s Sol Matugas (LP) against former Governor Robert Lyndon Barbers (NP), Nestor Madelo (Ind), and Vitaliano Ugalde, Jr. (Ind);

Zamboanga del Sur’s Antonio Cerilles (NPC). Unopposed.

Zamboanga Sibugay’s Rommel Jalosjos (NP), son of former Zamboanga del Norte Rep. Romeo Jalosjos is running against the LP’s Wilter Palma.

Another Jalosjos – Romeo’s brother, Rep. Cesar Jalosjos, is seeking election as governor of Zamboanga del Norte. (Carolyn O. Arguillas/MindaNews)