MGB-12 to provide geohazard maps to LGUs

GENERAL SANTOS CITY (MindaNews / 29 May) – The Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB) in Region 12 is set to distribute copies of geohazard maps to local government units (LGUs) in the region that will have new sets of officials assuming office on June 30.

Constancio Paye Jr., MGB Region 12 director, said Wednesday they will specifically send out the fresh copies of the geohazard maps to newly-elected mayors and governors who will be taking over their posts for the first time and those returning to office after taking a break in the current as well as in the past terms.

He said the initiative is mainly aimed at properly informing new local chief executives and other officials regarding the documented geohazards in their areas.

“This will help the new officials set early interventions and come up with management plans to address possible problems that might arise as a result of the geohazards,” Paye said.

He cited the noted risks to flashfloods and landslides of some communities and barangays as identified in the maps.

Paye said the maps mainly identify the areas within the region that are threatened by potential geohazards.

He said they also establish the parameters or features that may affect ground stability and the type of geohazards that may possibly occur within the identified critical areas.

The official said they are now identifying the LGUs within the region that will be given with new copies of the geohazard maps.

“We will initially distribute the 1:50,000 scale maps but we will later provide them with copies of the detailed maps (1:10,000 scale) once they are completed,” he said.

MGB, an attached agency of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, launched the detailed geohazard mapping program in 2011 following the completion of the initial nationwide mapping at a scale of 1:50,000.

The agency is targeting the completion this year of the detailed geohazard mapping at the 1:10,000 scale of six more municipalities in the region.

These are the towns of President Roxas and Alamada in North Cotabato; Sto. Nino and Surallah in South Cotabato; and Isulan and Lambayong in Sultan Kudarat.

As of last March, the agency has covered a total of 19 LGUs in the region for the nationwide detailed mapping program.

The completed detailed geohazard maps were that of the cities of General Santos and Koronadal; Tampakan, Polomolok, Banga, T’boli, Tupi and Lake Sebu in South Cotabato; Malungon, Alabel, Maasim, Maitum Kiamba, Glan and Malapatan in Sarangani; Bagumbayan, Columbio and Senator Ninoy Aquino in Sultan Kudarat; and, Magpet in North Cotabato.