No proclamation yet of councilors for Davao City 2nd district

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/16 May) — The City Board of Canvassers (CBOC) has yet to proclaim the elected councilors for the second district pending the transmission of results from the remaining three clustered polling precincts.

Lawyer Aimee Ampoloquio, chair of CBOC, said they will resume the transmission of results once the compact flash cards arrive from Manila. These cards are expected to arrive either Friday or Saturday.

Clustered precincts 707 and 753 lacked compact flash cards while clustered precinct 808 had a defective one.

The results from the three clustered precincts could change the standing of the candidates particularly the eighth spot which may go to either re-electionist Jimmy Dureza or Arnolfo Apostol.

As of Thursday, Dureza ranked eighth with 83,761 votes while Apostol had 82,190.

Ampoloquio said the results from the remaining three clustered precincts should be transmitted as there is only a slight difference of 1,571 votes between the two candidates. Once the board finishes the transmission of results, it will proclaim the winners.

The second district has a total of 365 clustered precincts with 297,930 registered voters.

But on Wednesday night, re-electionist Diosdado Mahipus, who currently ranked fifth for the second district based on the partial unofficial results, complained that the proclamation for the other leading candidates should be done while waiting for the eighth placer to be known.

The results from the three clustered precincts, he said, will no longer affect the standing of the top seven candidates.

Ampoloquio, however, explained that they need to print the certificate of canvass and proclamation together with the complete list of the top eight candidates.

“We cannot control the program. We can only print a complete list,” she said.

The CBOC, meanwhile, proclaimed Wednesday night the winners for mayor, vice mayor, Congress along with the winners of the city council for the first and third districts.

The board proclaimed Vice Mayor Rodrigo Duterte who got 473,375 votes as mayor-elect and his son, Paolo Duterte, who earned 437,266 votes as vice mayor-elect. The city has 967,944 registered voters but only 548,341 actually voted on Monday.

For the congressional race, the three incumbent House members managed to retain their posts.

First district Rep. Karlo Alexei Nograles got 132, 275 votes, second district Rep. Mylene Garcia Albano 99,869, and third district Rep. Isidro Ungab 114,657.

For the city council, the winners for the first district are Maria Belen Acosta (142,440 votes), Edgar Ibuyan (124,855), Leonardo Avila III (124,045), Leah Librado (123,394), Melchor V. Quitain (114,500), Nilo Abellera Jr. (106,260), Joanne Bonguyan – Quilos (104,875) and Bonifacio Militar (100,514).

For the third district, the winners are Karlo Bello (95,894 votes), Bernard Al-Ag (92,992), Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz (86,255), Rachel Zozobrado (84,525), Mary Joselle Villafuerte (72,340), Antonette Principe (70,296), Victorio Advincula Jr. (68,217) and Rene Elias Lopez (60,182). [MindaNews]