Zubiri’s bets win all but 4 mayoral races in Bukidnon

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews / 22 May) – The Zubiri-led Bukidnon Paglaum Party (BPP) dominated the winners for mayor in the province’s 20 municipalities and two cities except in four towns.

Three businessmen spoiled the party’s bets for mayor in Kadingilan, Cabanglasan and Kalilangan towns.

Independent candidate Jerry Canoy Sr., a former vice mayor, defeated incumbent Kadingilan Mayor Julito Talaid of the BPP.

In Cabanglasan, farmer-businessman Renante Inocando defeated incumbent Mayor Rogelio Castillanes, also of the BPP.

In Kalilangan town, in Bukidnon’s boundary with Lanao del Sur, construction contractor Omaradji Pizarro, an independent candidate, also defeated Kalilangan Vice Mayor Raymond Charl Gamboa, BPP’s bet.

Only three incumbent mayors of the BPP were defeated in the polls. Aside from Talaid and Castillanes, Valencia City Mayor Leandro Jose Catarata lost to Jose M. Galario Jr.

Galario won the mayoralty race in 2001 and 2004, and Catarata in 2007 to 2010.

The BPP also fielded former mayors to regain their old post.

Kitaotao incumbent Vice Mayor Lorenzo Gawilan Jr., who swapped posts with incumbent Mayor Rodito Rafisura, won as mayor again. He served as municipal mayor from 2001 to 2010.

Incumbent San Fernando Vice Mayor Levi Edma Sr. has retained his former position as mayor against two other opponents. His wife, incumbent Mayor Laurencia Edma, has retired. But his son, a municipal councilor, secured the second highest spot in his reelection bid.

Former Malitbog mayor Osmundo dela Rosa prevailed over Wilson Guiahan and two other independent candidates. Dela Rosa served as administrator of his wife, who won as mayor in 2010.

The BPP also fielded candidates from lower positions.

Dangcagan Vice Mayor Fruto Dandasan won the mayoralty race over former mayor Roberto Cabunoc. Dandasan swapped position with incumbent Mayor Eldiberto Ayuban, who won as vice mayor.

The BPP’s incumbent bets for mayor won in Malaybalay City and 13 towns.

Reelectionist Malaybalay Mayor Ignacio W. Zubiri, nephew of governor-elect Jose Ma. R. Zubiri Jr., won over businessman Estelito Marabe and incumbent Vice Mayor Victor Aldeguer.

In Baungon, incumbent Mayor Pedro Alvarez defeated three independent opponents.

In Damulog, in Bukidnon’s boundary with North Cotabato, incumbent Mayor Romeo Tiongco defeated Angelito Rivero of Aksyon Demokratiko and another independent candidate.

In Don Carlos, incumbent Mayor Felix Manzano defeated Fabian Gardonez and another independent candidate. Former mayor and independent candidate Ma. Victoria Pizarro, however, whom Manzano beat in 2010, was elected vice mayor.

In Impasug-ong, incumbent Mayor Mario Okinlay won over Oliver Aldovino, former member of the board of the Bukidnon Second Electric Cooperative (Buseco).

Incumbent Kibawe Mayor Minerva Casinabe also won over councilor Rodulfo Jurado.

Incumbent Lantapan Mayor Godofredo Balansag defeated ex-priest Cito Labastilla

Incumbent Mayor Alicia Resus won over McNeil Acosta of Aksyon Demokratiko in Maramag, hometown of the Zubiris in Bukidnon.

In Quezon, an attempt of the Fortiches, in the person of businessman Juan Carlos Fortich, failed against incumbent Mayor Gregorio Gue. The Fortich family ruled Bukidnon for most of the 20th century.

In Sumilao, incumbent Mayor Rey Baula won over councilor Dante Cuevas.

In Talakag, incumbent Mayor Nestor Macapayag prevailed over Renato Sulatan of Aksyon Demokratiko.

Incumbents Libona Mayor Leonardo Genesis Calingasan, son of the incumbent governor; Manolo Fortich Mayor Rogelio Quiño; and Pangantucan Mayor Manolito Garces practically already won even before balloting was conducted on May 13; they ran unopposed.