New Surigao officials sworn to office

SURIGAO CITY (MindaNews/28 June)—Seven of the 12 newly elected city officials here took their oath of office Friday morning before Regional Trial Court Executive Judge Victor Canoy at the city’s auditorium.

Surigao City mayor-elect Ernesto Matugas and his slate composed of vice mayor-elect Danilo Menor, a lawyer, and councilors-elect Perfecto Consigo, Carlos Gorgod Jr., Ernesto T. Matugas Jr., Rise Faith Recabo and Kent Yuipco were sworn in by Canoy.

The officials ran under the Partido Padajon Surigao-Liberal Party.

Opposition councilors-elect lawyers Jose Begil, Fernando Almeda and Luceniano Lancin, and Engr. Baltazar Abian and Nilo Aldonza took their oath last June 15 at the entry of the city legislative building. They belong to the Koalisyon Ng Mga Oposisyon Ng Surigao or KUSOG party.

The opposition councilors were supposed to hold their oath-taking at the City Cultural Center, but they claimed the administration deprived them from using it.

The oath-taking of Matugas, who won a second term, and his party mates at the city’s auditorium was packed by supporters.

Matugas urged the opposition party to unite with the administration “to bring the best service to the Surigaonons.”

Meanwhile, the newly-elected provincial officials were slated to take their oath of office also before Canoy at the Provincial Convention Center Friday afternoon.

Governor-elect Sol Matugas will lead the oath-taking of provincial officials that include vice governor-elect Arturo Carlos Egay Jr., a lawyer, and board members- elect Marmerto Galanida, Simeon Castrence, lawyer Leonila Licuan, Margarito Longos, and Cesar Bagundol, for the first district. They all belong to the Liberal Party (LP).

The newly-elected provincial board members for the second district are Myrna Romarate (LP), Victor Borja (LP), lawyer Fernando Larong (LP), Regina Alaan (Nationalista Party) and Melva Garcia (Nationalista Party). (Roel Catoto/MindaNews)