Does your barangay provide these services?

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 22 October) — Local Government Units (LGUs) are mandated toensure and support, among other things, the preservation and enrichment of culture, promote health and safety, enhance the right of the people to a balanced ecology, encourage and support the development of appropriate and self-reliant scientific and technological capabilities, improve public morals, enhance economic prosperity and social justice, promote full employment among their residents, maintain peace and order, and preserve the comfort and convenience of their inhabitants.”

Section 17 of the Local Government Code of 1991 (RA 7160)  provides that barangays should provide basic services that include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Agricultural support services which include planting materials distribution system and operation of farm produce collection and buying stations;
  • Health and social welfare services which include maintenance of barangay health center and day-care center;
  • Services and facilities related to general hygiene and sanitation, beautification, and solid waste collection;
  • Maintenance of katarungang pambarangay;
  • Maintenance of barangay roads and bridges and water supply systems;
  • Infrastructure facilities such as multi-purpose hall, multipurpose pavement, plaza, sports center, and other similar facilities;
  • Information and reading center; and
  • Satellite or public market, where viable.

From the website of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), one can download “Dashboard on Local Governance”  which provides a snapshot of key performance indicators (KPI) related to good governance.

Institutional Capacity

On Institutional Capacity, the Dashboard provides a summary of what your barangay must have:

Local Committee On Anti-Trafficking And Violence Against Women And Their Children (LCAT-VAWC), in accordance with Anti-Trafficking in Person Act (RA 9208) and Anti-Violence Against Women and the Children Act (RA9262).

The DILG, together with  the Department of Justice and the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) issued JMC 2010-1 providing for the guidelines in the establishment and creation of mechanism that shall facilitate its implementation.

Establishment Of Violence Against Women (VAW) Desk In Every Barangay, in  accordance with Magna Carta of Women Act (RA 9710). The DILG, together with the Philippine Commission on Women (PCW), DSWD, Department of Education and Department of Health issued JMC 2010-2 which provides for the establishment of a VAW Desk in every barangay to ensure that violence against women cases are fully addressed in a gender-responsive manner.

Barangay Facilities. This is accordance with RA 7160 (Local Government Code of 1991) of Section 17 which mandates the LGUs to provide Basic Services and Facilities (see Section 17 above).

Barangay Development Council (BDC). DILG  issued MC 2009-109, dated August 7, 2009 entitled “Guidelines in Monitoring the Functionality of the Barangay Development Councils (BDC)”

Barangay Peace and Order Committee (BPOC). Executive Order No. 366, dated 5 September 1996, requires all barangays to organize the BPOC. The BPOC shall serve as the implementing arm of the city/municipality in the Implementation of the Integratex Area/Community Public Safety Plan (IA/CPSP).* Except ARMM

Local Council for the Protection of Children (LCPC).  Title II, Sections 15 of the Juvenile Justice and Welfare Act of 2006 (and Article 87 of Presidential Decree 603) provides for the establishment and strengthening of LCPC in all levels.

Accountability and Transparency

On Adherence to Accountability and Transparency, the Dashboard lists down the following:

Full Disclosure. Pursuant to DILG MC, dated 14, 2010 entitled “Posting of Barangay Budget, Statement of Income and Expenditures and Other Barangay Financial Transactions, and Annual Procurement Plan.”

Barangay Assembly. Proclamation No. 260 Monitoring the compliance of barangays in the conduct of barangay assembly pursuant to section 398, Chapter VI, Book III of the Local Government Code of 1991 and DILG MC 2012- 29 dated February 10, 2012 re: to conduct Barangay Assembly held on March 31, 2012.

Barangay Citizens’ Charter. RA 9485 or the Anti-Red Tape Act of 2007. The Charter should contain the barangay’s specific frontline services, detailed steps or procedures, time allotted to accomplish each task as well as the accountable person for each task.

Dealing with disasters

In dealing with disasters the Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act of 2010  provides under Sec. 11 that the Barangay Disaster Coordinating Councils “shall cease to exist and its powers and functions shall henceforth be assumed by the existing Barangay Development Councils (BDCs) which shall serve as the LDRRMCs  (Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council) in every barangay.

Section 12 provides that there should be an LDRRMO (Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office) in every province, city and municipality, and a Barangay Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Committee (BDRRMC) in every barangay which shall be responsible for “setting the direction, development, implementation and coordination of disaster risk management programs within their territorial jurisdiction.”

The BDRRMC shall be under the punong barangay (barangay chair).

The law also provides that the BDRRMC “shall be a regular committee of the existing BDC and shall be subject thereto” and that the punong barangay shall facilitate and ensure the participation of at least two civil society organization representatives from existing and active community-based people’s organizations representing the most vulnerable and marginalized groups in the barangay. (First published in the October 21 issue of OUR Mindanao, the weekly newsmagazine of MindaNews).