Separate College of Law for MSU-GenSan pushed

GENERAL SANTOS CITY (MindaNews/13 May) — City officials are pushing for the creation of a separate unit for the College of Law extension here of the Mindanao State University (MSU) main or Marawi campus.

In a resolution, the city council asked MSU’s Board of Regents on Tuesday to separate the College of Law extension unit in the city from the Marawi campus and reassign it as a regular college of its autonomous campus here.

City Councilor Rosalita Nunez, chair of the council’s committee on education, said such move was in response to the clamor of the extension unit’s students who have to endure the long the travel to Marawi City when processing their credentials and other related requirements.

“The distance from the main campus has created adversity and lacuna in the processing of various academic-related requirements of the students,” she said.

MSU Marawi’s College of Law opened an extension program here in 1992 following a request from the city government and other local stakeholders.

The unit, which offers nightly law classes, is currently based at the downtown high school campus of the MSU here.

“Granting full autonomy and total separation of the College of Law extension from MSU Marawi is the answer to the problem,” Nunez said.

She said such move will eventually ease the burden in processing and transacting school credentials and requirements as well as lessen the burden of management by the main campus or MSU Marawi.

Nunez, who authored the resolution, said MSU General Santos is very much capable of running the College of Law once it is transferred under its jurisdiction.

She said the MSU campus here is now one of the top ranking universities in Southern Mindanao and has earned prestige with its topnotch graduates as seen with their performance in licensure and bar examinations in recent years.

The university was established in 1967 as an extension of the main university campus in Marawi City and eventually became the system’s flagship unit in southwestern Mindanao.

MSU General Santos is composed of nine colleges and units: College of Agriculture; College of Business Administration and Accountancy; College of Education; College of Engineering; College of Fisheries; College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; College of Social Sciences and Humanities; School of Graduate Studies; and laboratory high school of the College of Education’s training department. (MindaNews)