LPA is now Tropical Depression ‘Seniang’; 10 Mindanao provinces under PSWS 1

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews/28 December) — The low pressure area east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur has developed into a tropical depression and was named “Seniang”, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said in its advisory issued at 5:00 a.m. Sunday.

Seniang was spotted 340 km East of Hinatuan as of 4:00 a.m. Sunday carrying maximum sustained winds of 45 kph near the center, and was forecast to move west at 11 kph, Pagasa said.

The weather disturbance is expected to be 60 km east of Hinatuan by Monday morning, and 120 km east of Dipolog City by Tuesday morning.

Seniang is expected to make landfall Monday morning in the vicinity of Hinatuan with occasional rains and gusty winds and moderate to heavy rainfall (7-15mm per hours), the state weather bureau said.

Pagasa has placed 10 provinces in Mindanao under Public Storm Warning Signal No. 1. These are Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, Camiguin Island, Misamis Oriental and Bukidnon.

Pagasa alerted residents in low lying and mountainous areas of these provinces as well as the rest of Mindanao against possible flashfloods and landslides.

Fisherfolks and those with small sea crafts are advised not to venture out over the eastern seaboard of Visayas and Mindanao, it added. (MindaNews)