2 top police officers in Region 12 up for replacement

GENERAL SANTOS CITY (MindaNews/05 January) — Two top police officials in Region 12 are due for relief in the coming weeks after exceeding the prescribed two-year term in their current assignments.

Chief Supt. Lester Camba, Region 12 police director, said Monday the chiefs of police of this city and North Cotabato province already completed as of last month their mandated tours of duty and are now in line for reassignment.

He was referring to city police director, Sr. Supt. Froilan Quidilla, and North Cotabato Provincial Police Office director, Sr. Supt. Danilo Peralta.

“We already submitted a report about their status to our national headquarters and we’re currently waiting for the issuance of an order regarding the matter,” Camba said.

The official said the order or directive will specifically set the processes and procedures for the selection of the new chiefs of police for the two areas.

Citing the standard process, he said the Philippine National Police (PNP) central office will initially open the application for the positions that would be rendered vacant.

He said any commissioned police officer from the area and other regions in the country who holds the rank of Senior Superintendent may apply for the post.

He said the PNP will then select three to five “most qualified” candidates and submit their names to the local chief executive, which in this case are the mayor of this city and the provincial governor of North Cotabato.

“The mayors and the governor will then select from among the candidates, who will then be appointed by the PNP to maximum terms of two years,” Camba said.

He clarified that the Police Regional Office 12 could not just designate police officers to key posts like local chiefs of police as it will have to undergo proper processes.

Aside from the reassignment of Quidilla and Peralta, Camba said no reshuffle is in the offing for other key police offices and stations in the region.

But he said they are continually evaluating the performance of local police units and their chiefs of police that would later determine whether they will be reassigned or not.

Also known as Soccsksargen, Region 12 comprises the provinces of South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato and the cities of General Santos, Koronadal, Tacurong, Kidapawan and Cotabato. (MindaNews)