ASEAN names Ateneo de Davao High School as Eco-School awardee

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/09 August) – The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) named the Ateneo de Davao University High School (ADDU-HS) as one of 10 recipients of the 2nd ASEAN Eco-School Award.

The awarding is part of the celebration of the ASEAN Environment Year (AEY) 2015.

Held every three years, the AEY celebration showcases the ASEAN commitment to environmental protection and environmental education.

“I think ASEAN is recognizing the school for taking our green initiatives to the next level when we launched the greening program called Ecoteneo in 2011,” Fr. Michael Pineda, SJ, ADDU-HS Principal, said.

Pineda represented the school to the awarding ceremonies in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar on July 29 to 30, a press release from the ADDU said.

ecoteneoADDU-HS is the only secondary school in the Philippines to be given the award. Dubinan Elementary School of Santiago City, Isabela is among the primary school awardees.

The 2nd ASEAN Eco-schools Award recognizes the exemplary efforts of 10 primary and secondary schools from ASEAN member-states in inculcating environmental awareness in all aspects of education to students and surrounding communities.

According to the ASEAN website on the Environment, the selection of the eco-schools was based on national criteria and the ASEAN Guidelines on Eco-schools adopted by the ASEAN Environment Ministers in 2011.

“The Guidelines serves as a reference and regional standard for environmentally friendly model schools in the region. The event also provided an opportunity for government officials and school principals from ASEAN Member States to exchange information on environmental education policies and best practices on eco-school initiatives/activities,” the ASEAN said.

As part of the Ateneo formation into men and women for others, students are taught to properly segregate waste, understand the workings of the environment, and respect God’s creation, the ADDU press release said.

Launched in 2011, Ecoteneo began by implementing the school’s own Ecological Solid Waste Management plan in accordance with Republic Act 9003.

The ASEAN website listed the 10 winners in the secondary school category and primary school category of the 2nd ASEAN Eco-schools Awards:

Secondary School Category

  • Sekolah Menengah Muda Hashim, Brunei Darussalam
  • Preah Sisowath High School, Cambodia
  • SMA Negeri 2 Temanggung, Indonesia
  • Saysetha Secondary School, Lao PDR
  • Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Seri Aman Kota Tinggi, Johor, Malaysia.
  • Basic High School Chanmyatharzi Township, Myanmar
  • Ateneo De Davao University High School, Philippines
  • Woodgrove Secondary School, Singapore
  • Mattayomsuwitserianusn School, Thailand
  • Foreign Language Specialised School, Ha Noi, Viet Nam

Primary School Category

  • Jerudong Primary School, Brunei Darussalam
  • Wat Bo Primary School, Cambodia
  • SMPN 4 Martapura, Kalimantan Selatan, Indonesia
  • Thongkang Primary School, Lao PDR
  • Sekolah Kebangsaan Bukit Baru, Melaka, Malaysia
  • Basic Primary School Ywarthitsu. Myanmar
  • Dubinan Elementary School, Philippines
  • East View Primary School, Singapore
  • Bannammin School, Thailand
  • Hanoi-Amsterdam High School for the Gifted, Viet Nam

ADDU-HS was also one of the national champions in the 2013 National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools organized by the Environmental Management Bureau of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. (MindaNews)