UPDATE: 19 Mindanao provinces under Signal No. 1 as ‘Onyok’ nears Caraga

MALAYBALAY CITY (MindaNews/18 December) — Nineteen provinces in Mindanao have been placed under Public Storm Warning Signal No. 1 as Tropical Depression “Onyok” continued to head toward Caraga Region, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said in its advisory Friday morning.

Under Signal No. 1 are Surigao del Sur, Surigao del Norte including Siargao Islands, Dinagat Province, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Compostela Valley, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Misamis Occidental, Davao del Sur, North Cotabato, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay.

Pagasa said Onyok is expected to make landfall over Surigao del Sur around 8 p.m. Friday.

The tropical depression has maintained its strength but won’t intensify into a storm and will weaken after making landfall.

The state weather bureau warned of possible flashfloods and landslides in the low-lying areas.

As of Friday morning, Onyok was packing maximum sustained winds of 55 kilometer per hour (kph) near the center and moving westward at 17 kph. (MindaNews)