Storm signal no. 1 declared in 14 Mindanao provinces

ILIGAN CITY (MindaNews / 17 Dec) – The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) hoisted Thursday afternoon public storm signal No. 1 in 14 eastern and northern Mindanao provinces as Tropical Depression “Onyok” continues to move westward threatening the Caraga Region.

This as the cities of Cagayan de Oro and Iligan commemorated the devastating effects of typhoon Sendong with masses and candle offerings in sites hit by floods on its fourth anniversary on Thursday. The storm killed more than 1,100 people in the two cities.

Included in signal No. 1 are Surigao del Sur including Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte, Dinagat Province, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Compostela Valley, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Misamis Occidental.

PAGASA said that as of 4 p.m., Onyok’s center was estimated at 515 km east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur. It has maximum sustained winds of 55 kph near its center as it continues to move westward at 15 kph.

The weather bureau estimated rainfall at moderate to heavy within the 100 km diameter of the tropical depression.

“Residents in low-lying and mountainous areas of the provinces with public storm warning signals are alerted against possible flashfloods and landslides,” PAGASA said.

“The public and the disaster risk reduction and management council concerned are advised to take appropriate actions,” it added.