3 representatives, 24 councilors proclaimed in Davao City

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 11 May) – Reelectionist Karlo Alexei Nograles and Mylene Garcia, first-timer representative Alberto Ungab, along with the 16 incumbent, three returning, and five first-timer councilors, were proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) Tuesday afternoon.

Nograles and Garcia, who are on their third and last term as members of the House of Representatives, were first elected to Congress in 2010.

Nograles, who garnered 198,304 votes, ran unopposed while Garcia, who ran against independent candidate Christopher Abierra, got 148,509 votes.

Ungab, meanwhile, will replace his older brother Rep. Isidro Ungab, the incumbent chair of the House Committee on Appropriations. He won with 114,389 votes against incumbent City Councilor Karlo Bello.

“I am thankful to my supporters who helped in my candidacy. We will continue the projects and the programs for the people in my district,” the younger Ungab said.

Among the 15 candidates for the eight council seats for the first district, five are incumbent, one comebacking, and two are first-timers.

Councilor Maria Belen S. Acosta landed on top with 154,648, followed by first-timer Atty. Jesus Melchor Qutain Jr. with 146, 784 votes, Edgar Ibuyan Jr. (son of Councilor Edgar Ibuyan Sr.) with 143,883, Councilor Leah Librado with 139,078, Councilor Bonifacio Militar with 127,351, Councilor Nilo Abellera Jr. with 126,918, Councilor Joanne Bonguyan with 117,782, and come-backing Councilor Pilar Braga.

Among 13 candidates vying for the second district’s council seats, six are incumbent, one returning, and one first-timer.

Councilor Marissa Salvador Abella topped with 122,331 votes, followed by first-timer Ma. Cherry Ann Bonguyan with 118,248, then Councilor Al Ryan Alejandre with 117,112, Councilor Danilo Dayanghirang with 115,060, come-backing Councilor Dante Apostol with 112,459, Councilor April Marie Dayap with 108,539, Councilor Jimmy Dureza with 105,578, and Councilor Diosdado Angelo Mahipus with 104,413.

Among the 14 council bets for the third district, five are incumbent, two new, and one returning made it to the City Council.

Councilor Bernard Al-ag topped the race with 117,119, then first-timer Avegayle Ortiz with 103,423, Councilor Victorio Advincula Jr. with 99,437, first-timer Jesus Joseph Zozobrado III with 98,896, Councilor Antoinette Principe with 97,358, Councilor Mary Joselle Dilig-Villafuerte with 95,567, Councilor Conrado Baluran with 89,057, and returning Councilor Rene Elias Lopez with 88,463 incumbent.

COMELEC 1 Director Marlon Casquejo said Monday’s elections were successful and peaceful, with 72 percent voters’ turnout.

He said proclamation for the winners in the mayoral and vice mayoral races will be today (Wednesday).

The city has a total of 873,670 voters, of whom 357,551 voters are from the first district, 267,837 from the second, and 248,282 from the third.