The Mindanao Vote on extending martial law: 54 yes, 3 no, 7 absent

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews / 23 July)  —  How did Mindanao’s 64 representatives in the House of Representatives and three in the Senate vote on the extension of martial law and suspension of the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus until December 31, 2017?

Mindanao has 59 district representatives, two of whom passed away last year — Sulu’s Tupay Loong and Basilan’s Jum Akbar — and have not been replaced. At least seven party-list members are from Mindanao.

Samira Ali Gutoc of the Ranao Rescue Team addresses the Joint Session of Congress on 22 July 2017 as legislators deliberated on the request of President Rodrigo Duterte to extend martial law and the suspension of the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus until yearend. Photo courtesy of ALGA LATIPH

In Saturday’s Joint Session of Congress to deliberate on President Rodrigo Duterte’s request for extension, 261 voted yes while 18 voted no, three of them Mindanawon party-list representatives Carlos Isagani Zarate of Bayan Muna, Ariel Casilao of Anakpawis and Tom VIllarin of Akbayan.

The Senate voted 16-4 while the House of Representatives voted 245-14.

Of Mindanao’s 64 representatives, 54 voted yes, three voted no while seven were absent.

All three Mindanawon senators — Senate President Aquilino Pimentel, Emmanuel Pacquiao and Juan Miguel Zubiri — voted yes.

Congressional record shows that the seven Mindanawon representatives who were absent were  Bukidnon 2nd district’s  Florencio Flores, Jr.; Dinagat Islands’ Arlene “Kaka” Bag-ao, Lanao del Norte 1st district’s Mohamad Khalid Dimaporo, Zamboanga del Norte 1st district’s Seth Frederick Jalosjos, Zamboanga del Norte 3rd district’s Isagani Amatong, and Anak Mindanao’s Makmod Mending and Sitti Djalia Turabin – Hataman.

President Duterte, the first Mindanawon to lead the nation declared martial law effective 10 p.m. on May 23, some eight hours after clashes between government forces and the ISIS-inspired Maute Group and its allied forces started in Marawi. At that time, two soldiers and a policeman had been killed while 12 others were injured.

As of July 22, 105 soldiers have been killed, according to Armed Forces  Chief of Staff Gen. Eduardo Ano during the Joint session. Nearly 900 have been wounded. On the enemy side, the military claimed at least 421 have been killed as of July 19.

Duterte declared martial law from Moscow where he was on official visit. He cut short the trip and returned to the country on May 24.

During the voting in March on the reimposition of the death penalty, 217 representatives voted yes, 54 no and one abstained.  Among Mindanawon representatives, 49 voted in favor while 12 voted no.

Those who voted no to extension of martial law – Casilao, Villarin and Zarate — Zarate – also voted no to the death penalty. Of the seven absent last Saturday, five voted no to the death penalty: Amatong, Bag-ao, Flores, Mending and Hataman.

Here is how Mindanao’s representatives and party-list representatives who are Mindanawons, voted on the extension of martial law. (Carolyn O. Arguillas / MindaNews)

On extending Martial Law and the suspension of the privilege of Habeas Corpus

Joint Session, Batasang Pambansa,  Quezon City

22 July 2107


Agusan del Norte 1 Fortun, Lawrence H. Yes
Agusan del Norte 2 Amante, Erlpe John M. Yes
Agusan del Sur 1 Plaza, Ma. Valentina G. Yes
Agusan del Sur 2 Plaza-Mellana, Evelyn Yes
Basilan Akbar, Jum died 16 Nov. 2016
Bukidnon 1 Acosta-Alba, Ma. Lourdes Yes
Bukidnon 2 Flores, Doc Boy Absent
Bukidnon 3 Zubiri, Manuel Yes
Bukidnon 4 Roque, Rogelio Oneil Yes
Camiguin Romualdo, Xavier Jesus Yes
Compostela Valley 1 Zamora, Ma. Carmen S. Yes
Compostela Valley 2 Gonzaga, Ruwel Peter S. Yes
Davao del Norte 1 Alvarez, Pantaleon D. Yes
Davao del Norte 2 Floirendo, Antonio Jr. Yes
Davao del Sur Cagas, Mercedes C. Yes
Davao Occidental Bautista-Bandigan, Lorna P. Yes
Davao Oriental 1 Nunez-Malanyaon, Corazon Yes
Davao Oriental 2 Almario, Joel Mayo Z. Yes
Dinagat Islands Bag-ao , Kaka J. Absent
Lanao del Norte 1 Dimaporo, Mohamad Khalid Q. Absent
Lanao del Norte 2 Dimaporo, Abdullah Yes
Lanao del Sur 1 Adiong, Ansaruddin, A. Yes
Lanao del Sur 2 Papandayan, Mauyag Jr. B. Yes
Maguindanao 1 Sema, Bai Sandra A. Yes
Maguindanao 2 Mangudadatu, Zajid G. Yes
Misamis Occidental 1 Almonte, Jorge T. Yes
Misamis Occidental 2 Oaminal, Henry S. Yes
Misamis Oriental 1 Unabia Peter Yes
Misamis Oriental 2 Uy, Juliette T. Yes
North Cotabato 1 Sacdalan, Jesus N. Yes
North Cotabato 2 Catamco, Nancy A. Yes
North Cotabato 3 Tejada, Jose L. Yes
Sarangani Pacquiao, Rogelio D. Yes
South Cotabato 1 Acharon, Pedro B. Yes
South Cotabato 2 Hernandez, Ferdinand L. Yes
Sultan Kudarat 1 Mangudadatu, Suharto T. Yes
Sultan Kudarat 2 Suansing, Horacio Jr. P Yes
Sulu 1 Loong, Tupay T. died 30 June 2016
Sulu 2 Arbison, Munir M. Yes
Surigao del Norte 1 Matugas, Francisco Jose II F. Yes
Surigao del Norte 2 Barbers, Robert Ace S. Yes
Surigao del Sur 1 Pichay, Prospero Jr. A. Yes
Surigao del Sur 2 Pimentel, Johnny T. Yes
Tawi-tawi Sahali, Ruby M. Yes
Zamboanga del Norte 1 Jalosjos, Seth Fredrick P. Absent
Zamboanga del Norte 2 Labadlabad, Glona G. Yes
Zamboanga del Norte 3 Amatong, Isagani S. Absent
Zamboanga del Sur 1 Yu, Divina Grace C. Yes
Zamboanga del Sur 2 Cerilles, Aurora Enerio Yes
Zamboanga Sibugay 1 Palma Wilter II W. Yes
Zamboanga Sibugay 2 Hofer, Ann K. Yes
Cagayan de Oro 1 Uy, Rolando Yes
Cagayan de Oro 2 Rodriguez, Maximo, Jr. B. Yes
Davao City 1 Nograles, Karlo Alexei B. Yes
Davao City 2 Garcia-Albano, Mylene J. Yes
Davao City 3 Ungab, ALberto I. Yes
Iligan City Siao, Frederick W. Yes
Zamboanga City 1 Lobregat, Celso L. Yes
Zamboanga City 2 Dalipe, Manuel Jose M. Yes
Akbayan Villarin, Tomasito No
Anak Mindanao Mending, Makmod Absent
Anak Mindanao Turabin-Hataman, Sitti Djalia Absent
Anakpawis Casilao, Ariel No
Bayan Muna Zarate, Carlos Isagani T. No
Kusug Tausug Tan, Shernee Abubakar Yes
PBA Nograles, Jericho Yes